![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Suppose with a runner at first, the batter hits a sharp ground ball up the middle, causing F4 to initially move to her right to field it. F1 deflects the ball and it heads back towards where F4 was originally positioned, so F4 stops on her tracks and starts moving back to field the ball. F4 is about ten feet behind the baseline from first to second as she moves parallel to that line. The runner gets hit by that deflected ball, and F4 is nowhere near that runner when it happens. No way is that going to be considered hindering F4 while making an initial play. The onus is on the runner to avoid F4, not to avoid the deflected ball, and she shouldn't be penalized if she does just that. I think you're stretching the definition of initial play to the point that it directly conflicts with the deflected ball rule.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
In regards to "stretching" the initial play definition? I think I read it word for word. It specifically states if the ball is deflected by the pitcher but another fielder has a chance to gain contol of the ball that fielder is still making an initial play. No stretching, it's word for word. Last edited by DaveASA/FED; Thu Apr 11, 2013 at 07:26pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
In A) The runner hits the ball while the shortstop who was playing deep waits for it a few feet behind B) The runner hits the ball a just in front of the fielder but without contacting the fielder or otherwise impeding the fielder C) The runner hits the fielder while the ball is out of reach of the SS D) The runner hits the fielder while the ball is about to be fielded by the SS As I understand it: A) Not interference in ASA. Even though the shortstop would have gotten the ball, the shortstop wasn't interfered with the ball was and unintentionally interfering with the deflected ball is not interference. NFHS interference. The pitcher's touch does not count, so we have interference with the ball before it passes a fielder. (That last glosses over the details). I'm not sure how you feel about this one from reading what you've said. B) Same as A. You have interference here as I understand it because you don't think the being hit exception applies in this way. C) Obstruction ASA, more judgment required NFHS. In ASA, the deflection took away the fielders protection. In NFHS, the fielder can still be making an initial play on the ball (deflection doesn't count) so we have judge if the SS was the protected fielder or if the ball was clearly going to pass the shortstop D) Obstruction ASA. Interference NFHS. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NEW - 2003 NFHS Football Rule Changes (as written by the NFHS Rules Committee) | KWH | Football | 27 | Tue Jan 21, 2003 11:30am |