The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2013, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
If we're going to be consistent with other rulings - generally, if the batter interferes with a potential play, we have an out; but if the batter "interferes" while there is NO potential play, and a play develops because of that "interference", it's just a dead ball - put the runner back.

(B) is nothing.
(A) is - if no play, B/R to first, runner back; if there is a play, B/R out, runner back.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2013, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to bluejay Send a message via Yahoo to bluejay
My ASA book is from 2011 so perhaps somethng has changed but 8.2.f.6 mentions interference with a dropped third strike which I believe the OP describes. I think most of us know what three things always happen when interference occurs. Dead, out, return.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2013, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluejay View Post
My ASA book is from 2011 so perhaps somethng has changed but 8.2.f.6 mentions interference with a dropped third strike which I believe the OP describes. I think most of us know what three things always happen when interference occurs. Dead, out, return.
You are correct for a D3K. However, the OP said:

Quote:
Ball four is in the dirt...
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2013, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluejay View Post
My ASA book is from 2011 so perhaps somethng has changed but 8.2.f.6 mentions interference with a dropped third strike which I believe the OP describes. I think most of us know what three things always happen when interference occurs. Dead, out, return.
Um ... what?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2013, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to bluejay Send a message via Yahoo to bluejay
Excuse me. I guess I should read better. Our group recently had a long discussion on the DTK situation and I could not figure out why no one could get it. My bad.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 01:28pm
Call it as I see it.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluejay View Post
My ASA book is from 2011 so perhaps somethng has changed but 8.2.f.6 mentions interference with a dropped third strike which I believe the OP describes. I think most of us know what three things always happen when interference occurs. Dead, out, return.
Lets say it was a dropped 3rd strike it would only be interference if the kick was intentional. The Batter Runner has a right to run to first on a dropped 3rd strike so they are not doing anything illegal if it is unintentional.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 06:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane Blue View Post
Lets say it was a dropped 3rd strike it would only be interference if the kick was intentional. The Batter Runner has a right to run to first on a dropped 3rd strike so they are not doing anything illegal if it is unintentional.
Speaking ASA

No intent is necessary.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2013, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
What if F2 intentionally directed the U3K into the feet of the batter?
No response required.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2013, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo View Post
What if F2 intentionally directed the U3K into the feet of the batter?
No response required.
Oh, I just noticed the "no response required" not.
So I'll just offer my non-required response which is:
LOL
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2013, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
I have overruled myself.
If I had to make a ruling, I would apply 8.8.G.1; ball deflected by a defensive player, BR not out, live ball.

Then, if there was a play impeded, INT would apply.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Public Address announcer/ Play by play Terrapins Fan Basketball 34 Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm
Force play or time play? Rita C Baseball 44 Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am
Where can I get a copy of the sample certfication test? Brandon Kincer Football 5 Sat May 23, 2009 06:49am
Sample test Qs are fun-Not! zeedonk Basketball 30 Sat Oct 04, 2008 11:59am
Sample Officiating Resume lokluc Basketball 2 Mon Mar 07, 2005 03:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1