The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2012, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
ASA Directive question

Does anyone know where the ASA directive came from on the following play:

Runners on 1st and 2nd. R2 steals second, as R1 remains on second. Ball thrown back to pitcher who gets the ball in the circle and chooses to make no play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2012, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Does anyone know where the ASA directive came from on the following play:

Runners on 1st and 2nd. R2 steals second, as R1 remains on second. Ball thrown back to pitcher who gets the ball in the circle and chooses to make no play.
What is the directive? I hope it is that R2 is out.

And, would this really happen?
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2012, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
What is the directive? I hope it is that R2 is out.

And, would this really happen?
I had a coach suggest it to me as a possible play once. So, yes it could.

I'll be interested in the ASA directive.

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2012, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
What is the directive? I hope it is that R2 is out.

And, would this really happen?
Why would R2 be out? She's in contact with the base while the ball is in the circle and there is no rule forbidding two runners to be in contact with the same base simultaneously.

Actually, trying to correct the situation by returning to 1st base while the ball is in the circle would be a LBR violation.

It is not a directive, it is a rule. It has been covered in the UIC clinic and I believe at some point it was included on a Rules Clarification from KR.

When this occurs and it is apparent no one is going to move, the umpire is to suspend play and return the runner to 1st base.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2012, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
When this occurs and it is apparent no one is going to move, the umpire is to suspend play and return the runner to 1st base.
That is too simple, we need something more complex with degrees of ITUJ thrown in to cause coaches ejections.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2012, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Why would R2 be out?.
Because she's not on the base she's entitled to occupy since R1 wasn't forced to vacate the base.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
She's in contact with the base while the ball is in the circle and there is no rule forbidding two runners to be in contact with the same base simultaneously.
I know this is one of your favorite rules in the rule book, but maybe there should be an amendment to the rule.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Actually, trying to correct the situation by returning to 1st base while the ball is in the circle would be a LBR violation.
I think that calling the runner out for the LBR violation would be a great teaching moment. You're not going to see this at older levels and making it a teachable moment at younger levels would be beneficial in the long run.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
It is not a directive, it is a rule. It has been covered in the UIC clinic and I believe at some point it was included on a Rules Clarification from KR.

When this occurs and it is apparent no one is going to move, the umpire is to suspend play and return the runner to 1st base.
So, ASA's fallback for everyone that doesn't understand how to run the bases or get an out when we have two runners occupy a base is to have a do over?
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2012, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
Because she's not on the base she's entitled to occupy since R1 wasn't forced to vacate the base.
Um ... but that's not illegal.
Quote:
I think that calling the runner out for the LBR violation would be a great teaching moment. You're not going to see this at older levels and making it a teachable moment at younger levels would be beneficial in the long run.
Except that she's not breaking any part of the LBR.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2012, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
It is not a directive, it is a rule. It has been covered in the UIC clinic and I believe at some point it was included on a Rules Clarification from KR.

When this occurs and it is apparent no one is going to move, the umpire is to suspend play and return the runner to 1st base.
Thanks, Mike - I'm looking for that rules clarification. I and another umpire cannot locate it.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2012, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Thanks, Mike - I'm looking for that rules clarification. I and another umpire cannot locate it.
I took a quick look at a few of them, I couldn't find it. Then again, I know I've had this discussion in OKC and I thought on one of these boards in the past couple years.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2012, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Desoto, TX
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I took a quick look at a few of them, I couldn't find it. Then again, I know I've had this discussion in OKC and I thought on one of these boards in the past couple years.
I believe there was a case book play that covered this. (but that may have been before the case book was trimmed down)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2012, 06:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Thanks, Mike - I'm looking for that rules clarification. I and another umpire cannot locate it.
I know it is in the case book i have from library2002 but it is not handy.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 04, 2012, 12:18pm
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
Understand the discussion, but what rule is being used for the umpire to suspend play because both teams are at a stand still.

We have had other discussions where the umpire can not suspend play at a stand still situation, and must wait until someone does something, because the play is still ongoing.

What makes this play different?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2012, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
What is the directive? I hope it is that R2 is out.

And, would this really happen?
No, R2 is not out... what for?

Regarding really happening, the ruling applies to any situation (for whatever reason) that ends with 2 runners on the same base, and a pitcher with the ball in the circle making no play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2012, 11:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
After posting a similar question a few years back Dakota pointed this out:

Strangely, in NFHS, after a period of inactivity with no attempt to retire the runner, the umpire is to declare the ball dead and rule the runner out. See case play 8.3.3 SITUATION B.

See: What iffy play
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 10, 2012, 07:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
2011 ASA Case Book

PLAY10.1-1
With R1 on 2B, R2 on 1B, B3 hits the ball to F6. R holds up as R2 advances to 2B. F6 throws out B3 at 1B and both runners remain on 2B. The defense does not notice and the ball is thrown to F1. No further play is apparent.

RULING: The umpire should call "time" and place R2 back on 1B (8-3E, 10-1)
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1