![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
In my judgement she/he was still in the act of fielding a batted ball. Thats all you need!!
I agree with Andy the step and reach is a general guideline but NEVER say that to a coach in an ASA game, they will attempt to say you misapplied the rule using NFHS rules in the ASA game. Simply say my first sentence if ever asked by a coach!! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So a ball passing a fielder doesn't apply to a BALL hitting a Runner? ![]() (Go ahead shoot me now) |
|
|||
|
>>>--------------------->
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"Coach, the ball was passed your fielder, that's why I had obstruction and not interference."
__________________
Bill Hohn is the MAN!! |
|
|||
|
A few years ago, ASA removed the word "another" and added "any" defensive player in 8.7.J.4 (deflected ball).
Though the "intent" is still noted in this rule, I think the change in wording gives the umpire a little latitude in determining INT or not without being locked into a predetermined parameters.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| BR interference with catcher fielding bunt | reccer | Softball | 32 | Sun Jul 08, 2007 02:45am |
| In the act of fielding | rwest | Softball | 1 | Wed May 17, 2006 07:33am |
| Runner coliding with Catcher While Fielding a Thrown Ball | UmpJordan | Baseball | 14 | Tue Sep 21, 2004 02:06pm |
| Fielding a team | Mattinglyfan | Baseball | 18 | Wed May 21, 2003 09:36am |