The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   In the Act of Fielding the Ball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/91882-act-fielding-ball.html)

BretMan Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:49am

In the Act of Fielding the Ball
 
Question for ASA rules.

I know that NFHS has the "step and reach" guideline for when a fielder is fielding a batted ball, but muffs it. If the ball gets away, but the fielder is still within a step and reach of the ball, the fielder is still considered to be making the initial play on the ball.

Is there a similar guideline for ASA? I know that they don't mention the phrase "step and reach" in their rule book. Is there an interpretation, guideline, rule or rule of thumb that covers this?

If a fielder bobbles his first try at fielding the ball, just how much longer/further can he still be considered as "still in the act" of fielding the ball?

Just for the sake of the discussion...I'm picturing a batted ball that hits the fielder or his glove and then is loose on the ground.

okla21fan Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 847633)
Question for ASA rules.

I know that NFHS has the "step and reach" guideline for when a fielder is fielding a batted ball, but muffs it. If the ball gets away, but the fielder is still within a step and reach of the ball, the fielder is still considered to be making the initial play on the ball.

Is there a similar guideline for ASA? I know that they don't mention the phrase "step and reach" in their rule book. Is there an interpretation, guideline, rule or rule of thumb that covers this?

If a fielder bobbles his first try at fielding the ball, just how much longer/further can he still be considered as "still in the act" of fielding the ball?

Just for the sake of the discussion...I'm picturing a batted ball that hits the fielder or his glove and then is loose on the ground.

(answering your question with another question)
did the fielder still have an opportunity to make an out? (and has the ball past the infielder)

BretMan Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:04pm

I see where you're coming from (at least, on the first part, not so sure about the second part).

But "having the opportunity to make an out" isn't one of the requirements for interference when a fielder is fielding a batted ball. His protection is absolute, whether the opportunity for an out is there or not...isn't it?

Unless you're saying that after the bobble the fielder is no longer "in the act of fielding the ball", so a different standard applies (an opportunity for an out).

On the second part- the ball could be "past" the fielder and yet still be within his reach.

MD Longhorn Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by okla21fan (Post 847636)
(answering your question with another question)
did the fielder still have an opportunity to make an out? (and has the ball past the infielder)

Speaking ASA, neither are relevant.

HugoTafurst Thu Jun 28, 2012 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by okla21fan (Post 847636)
(Snip) (and has the ball past the infielder)

passed:D

okla21fan Thu Jun 28, 2012 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 847663)
passed:D

your correction is present

Andy Thu Jun 28, 2012 02:15pm

I'm not aware of any official interpretation in writing anywhere, but all my training generally included the "step and a reach" concept in judging interference after an initial bobble of the ball.

NFHS just codified it.

DaveASA/FED Thu Jun 28, 2012 03:16pm

In my judgement she/he was still in the act of fielding a batted ball. Thats all you need!!

I agree with Andy the step and reach is a general guideline but NEVER say that to a coach in an ASA game, they will attempt to say you misapplied the rule using NFHS rules in the ASA game. Simply say my first sentence if ever asked by a coach!!

MD Longhorn Thu Jun 28, 2012 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED (Post 847689)
In my judgement she/he was still in the act of fielding a batted ball. Thats all you need!!

I agree with Andy the step and reach is a general guideline but NEVER say that to a coach in an ASA game, they will attempt to say you misapplied the rule using NFHS rules in the ASA game. Simply say my first sentence if ever asked by a coach!!

(And never mention anything about the ball passing the fielder (even if it does) wrt interfering with a fielder. The ball passing the fielder ONLY applies to a runner hitting THE BALL.)

HugoTafurst Thu Jun 28, 2012 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 847698)
(And never mention anything about the ball passing the fielder (even if it does) wrt interfering with a fielder. The ball passing the fielder ONLY applies to a runner hitting THE BALL .)



So a ball passing a fielder doesn't apply to a BALL hitting a Runner?

:rolleyes:


(Go ahead shoot me now)

MD Longhorn Thu Jun 28, 2012 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 847707)
So a ball passing a fielder doesn't apply to a BALL hitting a Runner?

:rolleyes:


(Go ahead shoot me now)

>>>--------------------->

outathm Thu Jun 28, 2012 06:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 847698)
(And never mention anything about the ball passing the fielder (even if it does) wrt interfering with a fielder. The ball passing the fielder ONLY applies to a runner hitting THE BALL.)

If the ball has passed the fielder before the collision I will mention it to a coach, I did this weekend, when I told the defensive coach that I had obstruction.

"Coach, the ball was passed your fielder, that's why I had obstruction and not interference."

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jun 28, 2012 06:32pm

A few years ago, ASA removed the word "another" and added "any" defensive player in 8.7.J.4 (deflected ball).

Though the "intent" is still noted in this rule, I think the change in wording gives the umpire a little latitude in determining INT or not without being locked into a predetermined parameters.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1