![]() |
|
|||
In the Act of Fielding the Ball
Question for ASA rules.
I know that NFHS has the "step and reach" guideline for when a fielder is fielding a batted ball, but muffs it. If the ball gets away, but the fielder is still within a step and reach of the ball, the fielder is still considered to be making the initial play on the ball. Is there a similar guideline for ASA? I know that they don't mention the phrase "step and reach" in their rule book. Is there an interpretation, guideline, rule or rule of thumb that covers this? If a fielder bobbles his first try at fielding the ball, just how much longer/further can he still be considered as "still in the act" of fielding the ball? Just for the sake of the discussion...I'm picturing a batted ball that hits the fielder or his glove and then is loose on the ground. Last edited by BretMan; Thu Jun 28, 2012 at 10:56am. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
BR interference with catcher fielding bunt | reccer | Softball | 32 | Sun Jul 08, 2007 02:45am |
In the act of fielding | rwest | Softball | 1 | Wed May 17, 2006 07:33am |
Runner coliding with Catcher While Fielding a Thrown Ball | UmpJordan | Baseball | 14 | Tue Sep 21, 2004 02:06pm |
Fielding a team | Mattinglyfan | Baseball | 18 | Wed May 21, 2003 09:36am |