![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I think the runner should be allowed the white part of the base when the fielder is using the colored portion-EVEN IF the fielder is not SUPPOSED to be using the colored portion. Since the book does not cover this situation, I was hoping to get some confirmation for my logical conclusion. ![]() Joe |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
And people wonder why this gets screwed up. Well, I wonder how in the world this can get screwed up.
The double-base only applies when there is a play on the BR. 8.2.M The BR must use the colored portion, the defense must use the white. Two, AND JUST TWO exceptions: 1) If the throw or play to first is coming from foul territory on the right side, or 2) If a throw from another part of the field draws the defender into foul territory. In the case where one of the two exceptions occur, the BR may, MAY use either portion of the base.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But IMO reading the letter of the rule, the orange portion of the bag is in 'foul ground', thus no difference if contact with the double had been lost.
|
|
|||
|
Shouldnt have been debating it to long, this is from July 2011 rules clarifications.
Rule 8 Batter-Runner and Runner Play: With two outs and R1 on 2B, B4 hits a ground ball to F6. F6 fields the ball and throws high to 1B. F3 jumps up and catches F6’s throw and the throw takes F3 onto the contrasting color of the base. F3 only touches the contrasting color of the base before B4 reaches 1B. Is B4 out? Ruling: Since the throw from F6 was an errant throw, that in the opinion of the umpire took F3 to the contrasting color of the base, the batter-runner would be out. (Rule 8, Section 2M [5]:On an errant throw pulling the defense off the white portion of the base into foul ground, the defense and the batter-runner can use either the white or contrasting portion. If the umpire judged the throw took F3 to the contrasting color portion of the base that is in foul ground, then F3 can use either portion of the base. Note the throw does not have to take F3 beyond the contrasting color of the base to be considered to have pulled the defense into foul ground.) |
|
|||
|
There was a debate about this here last year. Somewhere in the midst of it, I emailed "a top ranking national ASA official". The answer I got was almost verbatim the same as the interpretation offered above...as was the scenario I presented with the "jumping fielder"...except that it pre-dated the publishing of that clarification by a little over a month. Apparently, my email may have been the impetus for the topic being discussed on their web site.
What was strange was that, at the time, this interpretation was contrary to previously published case book interpretations that said the fielder had to drawn completely off the base and completely into foul ground, such that touching the white base would require crossing over the colored one, before being allowed to use the orange bag. If that's the way they want it called...then that's the way we'll call it. But this really does seem to be a "rule change" precipitated by a "regime change" among the ASA powers-that-be. They kind of slipped this one in there on us while nobody was looking! Last edited by BretMan; Mon Jun 25, 2012 at 11:58pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Ball is fielded by or thrown to F3, who is not yet on the bag. F3, with the ball, runs to the bag, crosses in front of the runner and touches the COLORED portion of the bag. Does runner have to touch the colored part still, or can he/she go to the white? I see at least 3 ways to justify allowing BR to touch white in this case (not to mention the intent of the base in the first place), but if you are simply quoting the rule and saying that answers the question, without explaining the interpretation of that rule, it sound like you're saying BR must still go to the colored portion. Please correct whatever assumption I've made that is wrong.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Double first base question | Big Slick | Softball | 25 | Thu Jul 29, 2010 02:36pm |
| Pitcher w/Multi-Colored Glove | tskill | Baseball | 12 | Wed May 11, 2005 11:14pm |
| Flesh Colored Bandaid | emaxos | Softball | 7 | Mon Mar 21, 2005 08:49am |
| First Base Question | LDUB | Baseball | 2 | Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:51am |
| Another double base question... | KSBlue | Softball | 3 | Tue Jun 10, 2003 02:44pm |