The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Safe or Out? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/89753-safe-out.html)

MountieSB Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:30pm

Safe or Out?
 
Look at this video. Is the baserunner safe or out? After I get some opinions on this, I'll post the call. I'm particularly interested in what you have to say about the shortstop's bobble of the ball at the end of the play. Thanks!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/CaWbvSWuyh0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

MD Longhorn Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MountieSB (Post 829943)
Look at this video. Is the baserunner safe or out? After I get some opinions on this, I'll post the call. I'm particularly interested in what you have to say about the shortstop's bobble of the ball at the end of the play. Thanks!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/CaWbvSWuyh0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I wouldn't call that a bobble. She never really lost control. I have an out here.

(And Blue on the spot appears to be calling it too early!! :) but I think he has an out too, as he's already winding up for the sell)

IRISHMAFIA Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 829947)
I wouldn't call that a bobble. She never really lost control. I have an out here.

(And Blue on the spot appears to be calling it too early!! :) but I think he has an out too, as he's already winding up for the sell)

No argument the umpire was anticipating the call, not the play. Seeing what I can see from this angle, I may have ruled the runner safe.

The ball seemed to be begin moving out of the glove upon contact to the point when the SS reached to hold it in, the ball was actually on the back of her fingers and continuing out of the top of the glove where the SS eventually gained control after in snow-coned.

REMEMBER, I'm looking at a replay slower than real time. Other than being early, I'm not faulting the base umpire no matter which way the call goes.

OTOH,the SS pretty much deserved to lose this call by not properly applying a tag. Who the hell doesn't close the glove to grip the ball when tagging a runner?

RKBUmp Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:46pm

ASA Tag: A legal tag is the act of a defensive player: B: Touching the runner or batter-runner with the ball while securely held in the hand or glove.

The ball is moving around in her glove and at the very end she actually has to grab it and put it back in her glove. You would consider this "secure" posession of the ball?

Andy Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 829954)
ASA Tag: A legal tag is the act of a defensive player: B: Touching the runner or batter-runner with the ball while securely held in the hand or glove.

The ball is moving around in her glove and at the very end she actually has to grab it and put it back in her glove. You would consider this "secure" posession of the ball?

Agreed....One of the very last things in the video is the SS reaching to push the ball back into the glove after she comes up after the tag. This should be a clue that she didn't have the ball securely.

I'm not so sure that the BU is winding up for a sell out, however. It appears that he starts to point at the glove...perhaps to indicate that the ball was loose and the runner is SAFE!

IRISHMAFIA Mon Mar 05, 2012 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 829958)
Agreed....One of the very last things in the video is the SS reaching to push the ball back into the glove after she comes up after the tag. This should be a clue that she didn't have the ball securely.

I'm not so sure that the BU is winding up for a sell out, however. It appears that he starts to point at the glove...perhaps to indicate that the ball was loose and the runner is SAFE!

Don't know, that right fist was pretty tight and ready to go, but we've all been there. I guess he can still recover ;):D

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Mar 05, 2012 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MountieSB (Post 829943)
Look at this video. Is the baserunner safe or out? After I get some opinions on this, I'll post the call. I'm particularly interested in what you have to say about the shortstop's bobble of the ball at the end of the play. Thanks!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/CaWbvSWuyh0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>



This play looked extremely ugly. The SS did not make the call easy for the BU. I would have called the Runner out for no other reason than the SS managed to keep the ball in the glove, but again I have to say the play was very ugly and that is why we are payed the big bucks to call these plays.

MTD, Sr.

MD Longhorn Mon Mar 05, 2012 04:28pm

To those wanting to call this safe... the ball moves inside the glove on almost every tag play. I don't see her losing control here.

rwest Mon Mar 05, 2012 04:37pm

I guess we are just not meant to agree today!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 830022)
To those wanting to call this safe... the ball moves inside the glove on almost every tag play. I don't see her losing control here.

mbcrowder,

I guess we are just not going to be able to agree today! :) I'm calling her safe. And if the ball moves like this on every tag play, then I have a safe call on every tag play. There was way too much movement of the ball to suggest control. If she had closed the glove like Irish suggested you wouldn't have seen that type of movement. Most of the tag plays I see are executed better than this. And as someone else pointed out, she had to grab the ball at the end to prevent it from coming out. No control. She's safe.

MD Longhorn Mon Mar 05, 2012 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 830024)
mbcrowder,

I guess we are just not going to be able to agree today! :)

:) Sometimes that happens!
Quote:

I'm calling her safe. And if the ball moves like this on every tag play, then I have a safe call on every tag play. There was way too much movement of the ball to suggest control. If she had closed the glove like Irish suggested you wouldn't have seen that type of movement. Most of the tag plays I see are executed better than this. And as someone else pointed out, she had to grab the ball at the end to prevent it from coming out. No control. She's safe.
You are right that it was executed poorly, and that she should have closed the glove - however, that is INDICATIVE of my point - no one is ruling safe on a similar play with a closed glove, even though the ball often moves this much on those plays as well ... you just don't see them. I completely confess that this one is close, and as one other said above, I don't think you can fault the umpire either way on this call.

At this point, I'm more curious as to how it was ruled on the field and what happened after.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Mar 05, 2012 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 830022)
To those wanting to call this safe... the ball moves inside the glove on almost every tag play. I don't see her losing control here.

Yes, and that glove is usually closed to retain the ball which demonstrates control of the ball. That is not the case here.

x-tremeump Mon Mar 05, 2012 08:04pm

xtreamump
 
I have an out, I will explain. The position of the Umpire is perfect, however the Video has a different view than we as Umpires will have. The Umpire was blocked from the runner during the lack of control of the ball. I think that he will want to see the ball and make an OUT call.

EsqUmp Mon Mar 05, 2012 08:32pm

The defender had control of the ball. The runner slides in and causes the defender to no longer control the ball. The runner reaches the base. Only after reaching the base does the defender gain control of the ball. Even then, it doesn't appear that she does. She has to got back to the glove again as the ball pops out. The ball has to be secured held at the time the tag is applied, not after.

KJUmp Mon Mar 05, 2012 09:06pm

Would love to have had that video go about :03 sec. longer.
He gave a point, another few seconds would have told us if the point was indicating that the BU saw a bobble, or had a good tag and an out.

rwest Tue Mar 06, 2012 07:25am

Yes, but not this much movement
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 830042)
Yes, and that glove is usually closed to retain the ball which demonstrates control of the ball. That is not the case here.

Sure the ball may move but not as much as it did on this play. If it moves that much in the glove and I see it, that's not an out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1