![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
12.4.13 covers the batter-runner making contact with the ball on a dropped third strike. 11.15.3 (Hitting Ball a Second Time) would be the applicable rule for your sitch: "The batter may not swing and miss a pitched ball and then intentionally hit it on a second swing or after it bounces off the catcher or her glove/mitt. EFFECT:The ball is dead, the batter is declared out, and each base runner must return to the base legally occupied at the time of the pitch." That being said, the operative word there is intentionally. You said in your sitch...."there was no 'intent' to knock the ball away." However this part is a bit ambiguous...."As B/R is discarding her bat (still in her hands)....", was the bat in her hands or out of her hands when the bat contacted the ball? In her hands, we've got a swing, now we've got decide if she did it intentionally to determine if we have a dead ball B/R out or live ball B/R advances with liability to be put out. Out of her hands, we have a discarded bat, 11.14.3 (Dropped Third-Strike Rule), intent is not a factor, but unless the ball rolled against the bat (and your sitch had bat hitting ball), we've got a dead ball and an out. Last edited by KJUmp; Mon Mar 05, 2012 at 12:38pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Uncaught 3rd strike | charliej47 | Baseball | 10 | Wed Jun 30, 2010 11:04am |
Uncaught third strike question | kfrisbee | Softball | 4 | Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:03pm |
Uncaught 3rd strike | bellnier | Softball | 10 | Wed Jun 06, 2007 09:10am |
Uncaught Third Strike Mechanic | GarthB | Baseball | 5 | Mon Mar 19, 2007 03:44pm |
Uncaught third strike | Matt-MI | Softball | 6 | Mon Jun 09, 2003 10:49am |