The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 19, 2011, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
But, in HS, s/he must leave live-ball territory to be out.

Also, unlike a coach at a National said, the batter can not be out for leaving live-ball territory, while still at bat. Abandonment only applies to BR & R.
Partially true (not referring to coach, totally true).

In 8-2-4, Batter-Runner is out when "she fails to advance to first base AND enters the team area". So, correct in the OP situation.

But, in 8-6-22, The Runner is out when "she abandons a base, enters a team area OR leaves the field of play".

Case Play 8-6-22 Situation B: "B2 hits a grounder to F6 whose throw to F3 is not in time to retire B2. However, B2, who has not been declared out, leaves the baseline (My note: like THAT has anything to do with it) and heads for the dugout. RULING: B2 may be declared out if the umpire judges the act of B2 to be considered abandoning her effort to run the bases."

So, before reaching first, the BR has not abandoned an attempt until/unless she leaves live ball territory, but after reaching first, any effort judged to be abandonment by the umpire can be an out. Does anyone think there is any rationale or reasonable consistency here??
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1