![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Also ... please avoid the use of the term abandonment. It has a very specific meaning when applied to causing an out - and 95% of the umpires who want to rule someone "out for abandonment" have no idea when it applies - in addition, you can likely go your entire umpiring career and not have "Abandonment" ever actually happen.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
|
|||
|
From NCAA softball rules.
12.8.5 If the ball is live and a runner, after reaching base safely, abandons her base (for example, obviously heads toward her position or the dugout, believing she was put out or that another batter/runner was put out to end the inning). |
|
|||
|
But, in HS, s/he must leave live-ball territory to be out.
Also, unlike a coach at a National said, the batter can not be out for leaving live-ball territory, while still at bat. Abandonment only applies to BR & R.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In 8-2-4, Batter-Runner is out when "she fails to advance to first base AND enters the team area". So, correct in the OP situation. But, in 8-6-22, The Runner is out when "she abandons a base, enters a team area OR leaves the field of play". Case Play 8-6-22 Situation B: "B2 hits a grounder to F6 whose throw to F3 is not in time to retire B2. However, B2, who has not been declared out, leaves the baseline (My note: like THAT has anything to do with it) and heads for the dugout. RULING: B2 may be declared out if the umpire judges the act of B2 to be considered abandoning her effort to run the bases." So, before reaching first, the BR has not abandoned an attempt until/unless she leaves live ball territory, but after reaching first, any effort judged to be abandonment by the umpire can be an out. Does anyone think there is any rationale or reasonable consistency here??
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
IOW, the R can not "enters a team area OR leaves the field of play" without leaving (abandons) the base. We all know the national education body is weak on writing/editing.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Not true.
NFHS Case Play 8.6.22 (2010)
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Guess I have to add: If you're working NFHS ball, don't refer to the NCAA softball rules.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Sure - so many umpires saw the word abandonment in their rulebook in passing ... and have applied their own definition to it. Simply wandering off your base or some direction one might not normally expect is NOT abandonment in NFHS. We've all seen or heard about an umpire who ruled a runner out for abandonment when she did something odd thinking she was out or the inning was over - but not actually breaking any rule.
You have to actually LEAVE the field of play (or, I suppose, go play defense) to have abandoned a base.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|