The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 19, 2011, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
FED case play 8-1-1

F2 drops strike 3 with 2 outs . B3 starts toward the dugout but F2 does not throw to 1st. B3 then makes a quick dash to first. Ruling: If F2 does not throw to first, there is a chance B3 could reach first safely. However, B3 should be declared out if (1) she entered dead ball territory; (2) she did not reach the base by the time of the next pitch; or (3) the half inning ended because all infielders left the diamond.
And, while I am ragging on NFHS Case Book plays, here's another idiotic (IMO) ruling. B3 is out in (1); because the rule says if she enters dead ball territory she is out.

But in (2) IF SHE ISN'T PUT OUT, ON A BASE, OR OFF THE FIELD, HOW THE HELL CAN THERE BE A NEXT PITCH??

And in (3), the solution is for the defense to leave the field without effecting the third out, so THAT makes her out and ends the inning??

JMO, but these are embarrassing.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF

Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Fri Aug 19, 2011 at 09:44am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1