The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
It looks like the OP question is more about geometry than rule. As described, the fielders are behind the "base line", but possibly closer to HP than 2nd base. The line between does not matter, but the distance from HP might.

The OP Q asks how to define "passes". A runner on 2nd is further from HP than F3 and F5, so "past" them. If F4 & F6 are playing inside the base line, (as if expecting a bunt), the runner on 2nd is "past" them. All that is based on distance from HP and it is geometrically possible to be outside the base line and be closer to HP than 2nd base.

I think that determines the rule application unless there is an interp which says anything about how close to the "passed" fielder the ball has to be.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
It looks like the OP question is more about geometry than rule. As described, the fielders are behind the "base line", but possibly closer to HP than 2nd base. The line between does not matter, but the distance from HP might.

The OP Q asks how to define "passes". A runner on 2nd is further from HP than F3 and F5, so "past" them. If F4 & F6 are playing inside the base line, (as if expecting a bunt), the runner on 2nd is "past" them. All that is based on distance from HP and it is geometrically possible to be outside the base line and be closer to HP than 2nd base.

I think that determines the rule application unless there is an interp which says anything about how close to the "passed" fielder the ball has to be.
Exactly Cecil.

F5 is probably less than 60' from HP and R1 is probably closer to 80'. Did it pass an infielder? Depends on your perspective.

I think we need to make a decision as to whether or not interfence actually occurred and not just read the black and white rule.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
F5 is probably less than 60' from HP and R1 is probably closer to 80'.
84 ft 10 in to center of 2nd
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
84 ft 10 in to center of 2nd
But who's counting?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
84 ft 10 in to center of 2nd
If R1 were standing in the center of second, we'd probably be having a different discussion.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
84 ft 10 in to center of 2nd
I was assuming she moved a little bit.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"

Last edited by MNBlue; Thu Aug 11, 2011 at 10:24am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
I have no out for the op. the ball has passed an imaginary line drawn from where the 1b and 3rd baseman normally stand in fp.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald View Post
I have no out for the op. the ball has passed an imaginary line drawn from where the 1b and 3rd baseman normally stand in fp.
I did not see a smiley face.....but hope you are joking.

ASA does not recognize any sort of "String" theory.

The ball actually has to pass and infielder......in Rachel's OP.....it did not.

The ball is dead and the runner is out. Yes......this is going by the black and white of the rule. If ASA wants me to judge anything else, they can create a case play or interpretation in the UM.

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 09, 2011, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gulf Coast Blue View Post
The ball actually has to pass and infielder......in Rachel's OP.....it did not.

Joel
Which goes back to the OP Q (and mine) of how to define "passes", and how close to the "passed" fielder the ball has to be.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
84 ft 10 in to center of 2nd
It is actually 84' 10 and 1/4"

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gulf Coast Blue View Post
It is actually 84' 10 and 1/4"

Joel

again I say, But who's counting"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fielder carries ball out of play bossman72 Baseball 11 Thu Jul 26, 2007 02:08am
Fielder loses possession; Ball out of play Lapopez Baseball 37 Fri Aug 12, 2005 04:49pm
Interference with Fielder - Batted Ball Blue37 Baseball 6 Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:48am
batter interference with ball thrown by fielder Ernie Marshall Baseball 5 Tue Apr 23, 2002 07:37am
T/F - A fielder in possession of the ball can never be guilty of obstruction. Dakota Softball 2 Thu Oct 11, 2001 07:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1