The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 293
When is the ball past the fielder?

R1 on 2nd base. The SS and 2nd baseman are playing normal playing depth a step or two behind the baseline, but if you draw a line between them that line is about 7-8' in front of 2nd base. (I hope this is a good visualization)

A 2 hop screamer is hit up the middle and R1 is hit with the ball a step off of 2nd. There was no way either the SS or 2nd baseman were going to get to the ball.

Do we have an out?
__________________
ASA,NCAA,FED,NAFA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachel View Post
R1 on 2nd base. The SS and 2nd baseman are playing normal playing depth a step or two behind the baseline, but if you draw a line between them that line is about 7-8' in front of 2nd base. (I hope this is a good visualization)

A 2 hop screamer is hit up the middle and R1 is hit with the ball a step off of 2nd. There was no way either the SS or 2nd baseman were going to get to the ball.
Do we have an out?
I don't have an out.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
I don't have an out.
Disagree.

The theory of using the line between two fielders is, to the best of my knowledge, only used for determining if an umpire was hit by a batted ball before it passed a fielder. It has no bearing on a runner being hit.

The interference rule regarding a runner being hit by a fair batted ball (8-7-K) makes no allowance for a fielder being able to make a play, only that the ball has not passed a fielder, excluding the pitcher.

This play is probably HTBT, but as I visualise it from the OP, I've got interference and an out.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Disagree.
This play is probably HTBT, but as I visualise it from the OP, I've got interference and an out.
Who was interferred with?
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
Who was interferred with?
It does not matter......the ball had not passed an infielder....

See ASA 8-7 K

K. When a runner is struck with a fair untouched batted ball while not in contact with a base and before it passes another infielder excluding the pitcher, or if it passes an infielder and another fielder has an opportunity to make an out.

The rule does not stipulate anything other than this. ASA has never subscribed to the "String Theory" to my knowledge.

Also see RS33.

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
It looks like the OP question is more about geometry than rule. As described, the fielders are behind the "base line", but possibly closer to HP than 2nd base. The line between does not matter, but the distance from HP might.

The OP Q asks how to define "passes". A runner on 2nd is further from HP than F3 and F5, so "past" them. If F4 & F6 are playing inside the base line, (as if expecting a bunt), the runner on 2nd is "past" them. All that is based on distance from HP and it is geometrically possible to be outside the base line and be closer to HP than 2nd base.

I think that determines the rule application unless there is an interp which says anything about how close to the "passed" fielder the ball has to be.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
It looks like the OP question is more about geometry than rule. As described, the fielders are behind the "base line", but possibly closer to HP than 2nd base. The line between does not matter, but the distance from HP might.

The OP Q asks how to define "passes". A runner on 2nd is further from HP than F3 and F5, so "past" them. If F4 & F6 are playing inside the base line, (as if expecting a bunt), the runner on 2nd is "past" them. All that is based on distance from HP and it is geometrically possible to be outside the base line and be closer to HP than 2nd base.

I think that determines the rule application unless there is an interp which says anything about how close to the "passed" fielder the ball has to be.
Exactly Cecil.

F5 is probably less than 60' from HP and R1 is probably closer to 80'. Did it pass an infielder? Depends on your perspective.

I think we need to make a decision as to whether or not interfence actually occurred and not just read the black and white rule.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
F5 is probably less than 60' from HP and R1 is probably closer to 80'.
84 ft 10 in to center of 2nd
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
84 ft 10 in to center of 2nd
But who's counting?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
84 ft 10 in to center of 2nd
If R1 were standing in the center of second, we'd probably be having a different discussion.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
84 ft 10 in to center of 2nd
I was assuming she moved a little bit.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"

Last edited by MNBlue; Thu Aug 11, 2011 at 10:24am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
I have no out for the op. the ball has passed an imaginary line drawn from where the 1b and 3rd baseman normally stand in fp.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald View Post
I have no out for the op. the ball has passed an imaginary line drawn from where the 1b and 3rd baseman normally stand in fp.
I did not see a smiley face.....but hope you are joking.

ASA does not recognize any sort of "String" theory.

The ball actually has to pass and infielder......in Rachel's OP.....it did not.

The ball is dead and the runner is out. Yes......this is going by the black and white of the rule. If ASA wants me to judge anything else, they can create a case play or interpretation in the UM.

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
84 ft 10 in to center of 2nd
It is actually 84' 10 and 1/4"

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gulf Coast Blue View Post
It is actually 84' 10 and 1/4"

Joel

again I say, But who's counting"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fielder carries ball out of play bossman72 Baseball 11 Thu Jul 26, 2007 02:08am
Fielder loses possession; Ball out of play Lapopez Baseball 37 Fri Aug 12, 2005 04:49pm
Interference with Fielder - Batted Ball Blue37 Baseball 6 Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:48am
batter interference with ball thrown by fielder Ernie Marshall Baseball 5 Tue Apr 23, 2002 07:37am
T/F - A fielder in possession of the ball can never be guilty of obstruction. Dakota Softball 2 Thu Oct 11, 2001 07:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1