The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 12, 2011, 06:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
I did award R1 HP for the obstruction, BUT, doesn't R1 (or her substitute, if she was unable to continue playing) still need to complete her base running duties?...NFHS, ... ASA,...and USSSA rules.
Yes. The key to whether you did this correctly, in my mind, is whether R1 abandoned or merely missed the base. If she was "just inches" from the base, then I'm good with ruling she missed the base, and therefore the defense must appeal.

OTOH, if she abandoned her base and entered the dugout, you have an out. As you describe the play, I would have ruled it a missed base, as you did, requiring an appeal.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LBR twist DaveASA/FED Softball 20 Fri Mar 28, 2008 12:37am
Twist on 8-2-2 jkumpire Football 16 Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:34am
Another OBS twist tcannizzo Softball 4 Mon Jul 11, 2005 05:49pm
BOO with a twist DaveASA/FED Softball 8 Wed Apr 21, 2004 01:27pm
Davisms -- A New Twist rainmaker Basketball 12 Thu Apr 17, 2003 12:09am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1