The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 15, 2011, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 89
Batted Ball Hits Batter Running to First

In my game the other evening the batter bunted the ball and began to run to first. She was right on the line and the ball had a lot of spin and it spun towards her and hit her in the left cleat which was in fair territory. Now in all my years officiating this is the fist time this has occurred and it got me thinking. I just want to confirm my thoughts. By the batter being in fair territory and getting struck by the ball she is out. If the batter is in foul territory and is struck it is a foul ball. If the batter is in foul territory and intentionally interferes with the ball that has the possibility of becoming fair she is out. Correct me if I am wrong with my thoughts. I do recall reading over these situations in a rule book but I seem to not be able to find it. The game was a little league majors game but I do believe rule set does not matter as the situations would be ruled on the same.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 06:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by tankmjg24 View Post
IIf the batter is in foul territory and is struck it is a foul ball. If the batter is in foul territory and intentionally interferes with the ball that has the possibility of becoming fair she is out. Correct me if I am wrong with my thoughts.
Both of these situations are the same. Foul Ball.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 06:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by tankmjg24 View Post
In my game the other evening the batter bunted the ball and began to run to first. She was right on the line and the ball had a lot of spin and it spun towards her and hit her in the left cleat which was in fair territory. Now in all my years officiating this is the fist time this has occurred and it got me thinking. I just want to confirm my thoughts. By the batter being in fair territory and getting struck by the ball she is out. If the batter is in foul territory and is struck it is a foul ball. If the batter is in foul territory and intentionally interferes with the ball that has the possibility of becoming fair she is out. Correct me if I am wrong with my thoughts. I do recall reading over these situations in a rule book but I seem to not be able to find it. The game was a little league majors game but I do believe rule set does not matter as the situations would be ruled on the same.
You were okay up until this point, but I disagree that the ruleset doesn't matter. ASA would disagree with you on the part I bolded. Other associations (I believe USSSA slow pitch, for example) may not.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Right, NCASA. In ASA, a BR or runner can intentionally touch and thus render foul a ball that is in foul territory, even if it has a chance to become fair. I don't know about USSSA, but in NCAA such an action is illegal.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
batted ball hits a pitcher CecilOne Softball 5 Thu Nov 04, 2010 12:28am
Batted Ball hits held bat Eastshire Baseball 11 Thu Jun 28, 2007 07:59am
Batted ball hits umpire WestMichBlue Softball 6 Sun Feb 13, 2005 04:02pm
Batted ball hits BR Dakota Softball 9 Fri Sep 26, 2003 09:52am
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1