The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 01, 2011, 06:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
That's because NFHS doesn't use the tie-breaker, but does allow state associations to institute a tie breaking procedure for their own association (4.2.6)
Run rules and tie breakers are by state adoption in HS. We haven't been able to get a tie-breaker approved in Florida.

Does your state have a tie breaker rule? If so, what inning does it begin? (Gathering info for another tilt at the FHSAA windmill.)
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 01, 2011, 07:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by argodad View Post
...Does your state have a tie breaker rule? If so, what inning does it begin? (Gathering info for another tilt at the FHSAA windmill.)
Yes, but only for weekend HS tournament games, not regular season or playoff games. So, sorry, probably not a lot of help with FHSAA.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 01, 2011, 07:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by argodad View Post
Run rules and tie breakers are by state adoption in HS. We haven't been able to get a tie-breaker approved in Florida.

Does your state have a tie breaker rule? If so, what inning does it begin? (Gathering info for another tilt at the FHSAA windmill.)
Wish you the best of luck.
Been there, have the tee shirt.

11 i& 9 Innings this year.
18, 15, 12, plus less in others! ;-)

Actually, I really don't care but its fun to gripe about.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2011, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by argodad View Post
Run rules and tie breakers are by state adoption in HS. We haven't been able to get a tie-breaker approved in Florida.

Does your state have a tie breaker rule? If so, what inning does it begin? (Gathering info for another tilt at the FHSAA windmill.)
MD - 8th inning
DE - 10th inning
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2011, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Almere (NL)
Posts: 370
Last batted out/last out...
I'm not happy:
Why don't we stick to: The last person with a complete turn at bat will be the tie-breaker runner

Last batter flied out or grounded out for the tie > this one runs from second.
Last out on a base (not 1st) on a force > last batter on second; this one has a complete turn at bat...
Lats out on a base (Try to steel/early leave or something like this) > the last one with a complete turn at bat goes running...

B1 flies out,
B2 walks (further to refer to as R1),
B3 grounded out/R1 to 2nd,
B4 at bat with 2-2 count, R1 caught steeling. Tied game.
B3 is the tie-break runner! Was the last one with a complete turn at bat!


Not that difficult, I guess. (All is easy at the moment you understand it )
__________________
Sander




Ik ben niet gek, doe alleen alsof! Gaat me goed af toch?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2011, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Alex View Post
Last batted out/last out...
I'm not happy:
Why don't we stick to: The last person with a complete turn at bat will be the tie-breaker runner
Because that's USUALLY, but not UNIVERSALLY correct.

B1 out. B2 out. B6 hits a home run, B3 ruled out for not batting.

The last person with a complete turn at bat was B6 - but B3 is your runner and B4 your first batter.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2011, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
ASA 18A Qualifier this weekend.
We got to the 8th inning in 1:25 scoreless.
During the game each of the coaches mentioned to me (separately) that their team had just not been hitting all weekend.

I told them that if we get to the 15th inning and still scoreless that the ITB would be modified, starting with Bases Loaded and a 3-0 count on B.
Someone is going to score!!!!
Of course, just kidding around with them to get some chuckles.
Fortunately home team scored in Bot 8.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2011, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Almere (NL)
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Because that's USUALLY, but not UNIVERSALLY correct.

B1 out. B2 out. B6 hits a home run, B3 ruled out for not batting.

The last person with a complete turn at bat was B6 - but B3 is your runner and B4 your first batter.
Not by my book. I would have B6 as the runner; I think that's within ISF. Will check that though...
__________________
Sander




Ik ben niet gek, doe alleen alsof! Gaat me goed af toch?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2011, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Alex View Post
Not by my book. I would have B6 as the runner; I think that's within ISF. Will check that though...
So what do you plan to do when the third batter is due up in that inning and she's still standing on 2B?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2011, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Alex View Post
Not by my book. I would have B6 as the runner; I think that's within ISF. Will check that though...
Who is the first batter due up in the TB inning? I assume it would be B4. As Altor asked, unless B6 has scored already (or been put out), she will still be on base after B5 bats. What then?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2011, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Because that's USUALLY, but not UNIVERSALLY correct.

B1 out. B2 out. B6 hits a home run, B3 ruled out for not batting.

The last person with a complete turn at bat was B6 - but B3 is your runner and B4 your first batter.
The last completed at bat was still by B3. It just happened to be filled by an improper person in that spot.
B3 goes to second.

If you take the "last person with a completed at bat" as you do above, you would have a problem in the following situation:

B1 out
B2 out
B3 out
Sub player X for B3 (for the defensive half inning)
By your logic, you are saying that B3 is up. Actually its X for B3. Ecssentially meaning the person occupying the spot in lineup where last completed at bat occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2011, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
The last completed at bat was still by B3. It just happened to be filled by an improper person in that spot.
B3 goes to second.
No, B3 is out because she did NOT complete her at bat.

Quote:
If you take the "last person with a completed at bat" as you do above,
No... I don't. Alex does - my example was an attempt to show why that could be incorrect...
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2011, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Almere (NL)
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
No, B3 is out because she did NOT complete her at bat.

No... I don't. Alex does No I don't. I did make me look like a fool, Sander- my example was an attempt to show why that could be incorrect...
Mike, there is a slight difference in "not completing your at bat" and having a complete turn at bat: B3 was out for NOT BATTING. That gave her a complete turn at bat...
__________________
Sander




Ik ben niet gek, doe alleen alsof! Gaat me goed af toch?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2011, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Almere (NL)
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Because that's USUALLY, but not UNIVERSALLY correct.

B1 out. B2 out. B6 hits a home run, B3 ruled out for not batting.

The last person with a complete turn at bat was B6 - but B3 is your runner and B4 your first batter.
OOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooops....
I was reading after B2 out: B3, B4 and B5 on the bases when B6 hit that homer.
However, you're talking BOO here. Then we have:

Sec. 2. BATTING ORDER.

d. The first batter in each inning shall be the batter whose name follows that of the last player who completed a turn
at bat in the preceding inning.
EFFECT - Sec. 2c-d:
Batting out-of-order is an appeal play that may be made by the manager, coach, or player of the defensive team only.
The defensive team forfeits it's right to appeal for batting out-of-order when all fielders have clearly vacated their normal fielding positions and have left air territory on their way to the bench or dugout.
1. If the error is discovered while the incorrect batter is at bat
(a) The correct batter may legally take his place, and assume the ball and strike count of the incorrect batter.
(b) Any runs scored or bases run while the incorrect batter is at bat shall be legal.
2. If the error is discovered after the incorrect batter has completed his turn at bat and before a legal or illegal pitch has been made to another batter
(a) The player who should have batted is out.
(b) Any advance or score made as a result of the improper batter becoming a batter-runner shall be nullified.
Any out that is made prior to discovering this infraction, remains out.
(c) The next batter is the player whose name follows that of the player called out for failing to bat. If the next player was the incorrect batter who was called out, go to the next person in the line-up.


Then yes, you are correct B4 is at bat. The homer by B6 is nullified and has not a complete turn at bat. At the score-sheet will show up that B3 has however a complete turn at bat. Even while she didn't show up at bat...

I must read much s l o w e r, when it's in the Queens English. Sorry for the miscommunication and for making myself look like an idiot.
__________________
Sander




Ik ben niet gek, doe alleen alsof! Gaat me goed af toch?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tension breaker. jeffro Basketball 4 Sat Feb 28, 2009 02:51pm
Tie breaker UMP 64 Softball 7 Mon May 08, 2006 08:45pm
Tie Breaker MNBlue Softball 15 Thu Apr 27, 2006 07:52am
International Tie-Breaker (ITB) & ASA noobie Softball 1 Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:53am
International tie breaker - ejected player D. Williams Baseball 10 Tue Apr 23, 2002 10:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1