![]() |
|
|
|||
Yes, this is fastpitch.
So do you put the batter back up to bat and add a ball to the count and advance the runners - if the coach decides he wants that option? Is that an option? Is the R2 out? Can any runs score AFTER interference on a runner has been declared?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
But what about AFTER? NY state softball organization I umpire for gives us a test every year and one of the questions last year said AFTER - and they said it can happen. I can't figure out when. Except for the case I wrote about above. So my questions really are:
Can a run score AFTER interference on a runner is declared? If so, how? What is the correct ruling in the above play?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter. |
|
|||
Quote:
Any coach, even the purest idiots, would take the IP penalty in this case; R1 scores, R2 to 3rd, B4 (has to be 4, because you had an out, right!!) returns to bat with a ball added to the count. Because the result of the play scores no runs and adds an out!!
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
R1 scores, R2 to 3rd, B4 (has to be 4, because you had an out, right!!)
If in the 1st inning. What if it was the 6th inning and B9 led off by making an out?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
In the approved nomenclature for writing a case play, B9 is the 9th batter in the current inning; it has nothing to do with the lineup. In the 6th, B1 leads off; just like B1 leads off in every inning.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Well, I've learned something again. Thanx.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
________ Colorado Dispensary Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:48pm. |
|
|||
Interference always trumps obstruction, right?
What if 2 different players are involved? R1 on 2B and batter hits safely to RF. R1 obstructed between 3B & home, would have scored easily, but headed back to 3B. Meantime, throw from F9 to F4 who is bumped by BR as she's making a throw to F2. Interference, DB, BR declared out. Does R1 get to score? Number of outs matter?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
How many runs score? | MNBlue | Softball | 10 | Fri Apr 10, 2009 08:38am |
How Many Runs Score | David M | Baseball | 3 | Tue Jun 27, 2006 08:08am |
Clock runs during FT.... | zebra44 | Basketball | 5 | Mon Nov 22, 2004 08:36am |
115 runs | Duke | Softball | 9 | Mon May 10, 2004 11:11am |
How many runs score? | Bluefoot | Softball | 14 | Wed Mar 10, 2004 09:29am |