![]() |
|
|
|||
ASA - No runs will score if....
ASA rules. R1 on 3rd, R2 on first. One out.
Illegal pitch is called. On the pitch, B3 hits a ground ball toward F4, when the ball hits R2 on their way to second base. All fielders were behind the runner. What's the call here? My take, and I am sure I've something wrong. Dead ball, R2 out for interference, B3 is awarded first base and R1 returns to 3rd. Now the coach of the offense is given the choice of taking this result, or giving a ball to the batter and R1 scores. R2 is still out. This really stems from a test question that I had asked about last year. "No runs can ever score after interference on a runner is declared." I said true, but was marked wrong. So I'm trying to justify any situation where a run DOES score AFTER interference on a RUNNER has been declared. The above situation is all I can think of, but I don't know if the ruling I wrote about is even correct. Can someone clarify? Thanks.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter. |
|
|||
Well I'll give it a try.
On the IP, we have a delayed DB. Batter hits the ball, which hits the runner. This results in an immediate DB. Runner is out, runner at third is returned, batter awarded first base. Since not every runner advanced 1 base and the batter reached first, the coach now has the option of taking the result of the play, or enforcing the penalty for the IP. Penalty for IP is a ball to the batter, and all runners advanced 1 base. This would likely be his/her choice in this case. The fact that the runner was hit by the batted ball is now moot because we've enforced the IP penalty.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
coach of the offense is given the choice
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Yes, this is fastpitch.
So do you put the batter back up to bat and add a ball to the count and advance the runners - if the coach decides he wants that option? Is that an option? Is the R2 out? Can any runs score AFTER interference on a runner has been declared?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
That was part of his take, not the scenario. AFAIC, his "take" could have been wrong, especially since it was a question.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
How many runs score? | MNBlue | Softball | 10 | Fri Apr 10, 2009 08:38am |
How Many Runs Score | David M | Baseball | 3 | Tue Jun 27, 2006 08:08am |
Clock runs during FT.... | zebra44 | Basketball | 5 | Mon Nov 22, 2004 08:36am |
115 runs | Duke | Softball | 9 | Mon May 10, 2004 11:11am |
How many runs score? | Bluefoot | Softball | 14 | Wed Mar 10, 2004 09:29am |