![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Well I'll give it a try.
On the IP, we have a delayed DB. Batter hits the ball, which hits the runner. This results in an immediate DB. Runner is out, runner at third is returned, batter awarded first base. Since not every runner advanced 1 base and the batter reached first, the coach now has the option of taking the result of the play, or enforcing the penalty for the IP. Penalty for IP is a ball to the batter, and all runners advanced 1 base. This would likely be his/her choice in this case. The fact that the runner was hit by the batted ball is now moot because we've enforced the IP penalty.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
coach of the offense is given the choice
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Yes, this is fastpitch.
So do you put the batter back up to bat and add a ball to the count and advance the runners - if the coach decides he wants that option? Is that an option? Is the R2 out? Can any runs score AFTER interference on a runner has been declared?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
But what about AFTER? NY state softball organization I umpire for gives us a test every year and one of the questions last year said AFTER - and they said it can happen. I can't figure out when. Except for the case I wrote about above. So my questions really are:
Can a run score AFTER interference on a runner is declared? If so, how? What is the correct ruling in the above play?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Any coach, even the purest idiots, would take the IP penalty in this case; R1 scores, R2 to 3rd, B4 (has to be 4, because you had an out, right!!) returns to bat with a ball added to the count. Because the result of the play scores no runs and adds an out!!
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
________ Colorado Dispensary Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:48pm. |
|
|||
|
That was part of his take, not the scenario. AFAIC, his "take" could have been wrong, especially since it was a question.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| How many runs score? | MNBlue | Softball | 10 | Fri Apr 10, 2009 08:38am |
| How Many Runs Score | David M | Baseball | 3 | Tue Jun 27, 2006 08:08am |
| Clock runs during FT.... | zebra44 | Basketball | 5 | Mon Nov 22, 2004 08:36am |
| 115 runs | Duke | Softball | 9 | Mon May 10, 2004 11:11am |
| How many runs score? | Bluefoot | Softball | 14 | Wed Mar 10, 2004 09:29am |