![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Hey Man - I know you read the NFHS board which just pointed out the NFHS casebook play - which is very clear!
![]() ![]() 6.1.1 A |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"6.f.2: when the hands are together and no part of the windup motion has been made, the pitcher may legally step back from the pitching plate with both feet. Time out could also be requested. If granted, F1 could start her pitching process over." ?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
I would say that the case book makes it clear that the illegal pitch has already occurred, wouldn't you?
|
|
|||
|
I believe it means that nothing else that was illegal has occured to that point. If you have hands together and step on the pitching plate, you have committed a violation. And you will be ticketed.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Thanks for all the replys. My day has been crazy busy and this is the first time I've had a chance to respond. As stated by some, Fed casebook 6.1.1 is cut and dry..."F1's hands shall be apart when she steps onto the pitcher's plate. Therefore, this is an illegal pitch." There seems to be no ifs, ands or buts about it. But there is a difference between the clarity of the casebook and the wording of the rulebook. I'm not thinking that delayed dead ball works here. If it is illegal and there is no way to make it legal (as per Fed), then why let thie pitch be delivered? Spit on the ball...dead ball, no pitch permitted . Take a nail file out of her pants and jab the ball
...dead ball, no pitch permitted. It seeems like Fed is saying this infraction is like that, even though they aren't clear rulebook wise.I think I'll pose the question to my state interpreter and see if he can get some info at the national office. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It is a DDB. If the pitcher stops at that point and there is no pitch imminent, kill it and apply the appropriate rule. But if the pitcher doesn't stop and continues with a pitch, are you prepared to tell the batter that the ball she just hit over the fence doesn't count because you don't believe the pitch should be allowed? There are reasons an IP is a DDB and this is one of them.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The ASA book does not say the pitcher can remove herself, so it would seem ths same applies, unless you are decreeing otherwise.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Illegal Pitch / Runner leaves early
In another thread, this is posted:
From March 2008 Plays and Clarifications on the ASA website. PLAY: R1 on 1B and no count on B2. F1 commits an illegal pitch, by bringing the hands together a second time, which is called by the plate umpire, but continues the pitch. Just before releasing the ball R1 leaves the base before the release of the pitch. In (a) B1 does not swing at the pitch. In (b) B1 swings at the pitch and gets a base hit. In (c) R1 is on 1B and R2 is on 3B at the start of the play. RULING: The illegal pitch happened when the pitcher brought their hands together, paused, the hands separated to begin the pitch, then the hands came back together prior to the release of the pitch. In (a) and (b) the ball became dead when R1 left 1B before the pitch was released. The fact that the batter did not swing in (a) or got a hit in (b) is irrelevant because the ball became dead when R1 left 1B early. Enforce both the leaving early and illegal pitch infractions, The Ball is dead and R1 is out and a ball is awarded to B2. In (c) The plate umpire should call illegal pitch when it occurs and then “dead ball” when R1 leaves 1B too soon. R1 is out, R2 is awarded home and B2 is awarded a ball in the count. Rule 8, Section 7-S, Effect, Rule 6, Section 3-B, Effect-A Illegal Pitch ************************************************** ******** I think I first became aware of this ruling 2 years ago and I don't quite understand the part about ruling the runner out for leaving early. My thinking has been that there are many illegal pitches which can actually cause (if that is the correct word) the runner to leave early. Don't runners time their leaving a base to the pitcher? Isn't it reasonable to think that it is this illegal infraction could be the cqause of the runner leaving early? Just wondering if I'm way off base on this one? I know the case ruling, just seems funny to me. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
but to answer your comment - Wouldn't you say a double touch affects a runner's timing? Wouldn't you say that most of the infractions in Article 4 could affect the runner's timing? (Lets continue this in the other thread - I'm sensitive to hijacking threads 9unless it's to talk about alcohol ![]() )
Last edited by HugoTafurst; Wed Mar 09, 2011 at 07:52am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
There is no "right" of or rule to prevent the runner to not have their timing disrupted. Either the pitcher released the ball or she didn't. If not, the runner cannot leave the base.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
)
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Pitching question Again | nkfast | Softball | 3 | Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:31am |
| Question on Pitching | Gemini | Baseball | 6 | Mon May 05, 2003 03:28pm |
| Pitching question | kssa | Softball | 2 | Thu May 01, 2003 09:42pm |
| Pitching question. | Coach_Mike03 | Softball | 2 | Sun Apr 20, 2003 10:26am |
| Fed pitching question | Roger Greene | Softball | 3 | Fri May 11, 2001 09:45pm |