![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
No but it does apply to the runners who start out at 1st and 2nd. If they run off the field for the first and second out before the BR gets off the field then if you call the BR out, you're calling her out for the third out (made before she reached first).
________ *** Webcams Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:34pm. |
|
|||
|
So you are changing the play as offered in the OP? Nowhere was it stated that any runner entered the dugout without advancing other than the BR. That means the 8.7.U does not apply to the play offered.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Yes, he made up another play to try to illustrate his point. After re-reading, I'm thinking he's actually trying to invent a scenario where bases are loaded with no outs, R1 scores, BR dawdles a LONG time, so long that R2 and R3 advance to their bases and then head to and enter their dugouts AHEAD of BR.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
This thread made me think...
Hypothetically... Bases loaded, 2 outs. DK3 AND passed ball. BR is a new player and doesn't run to 1st until coaches and parents yell "RUN!" ![]() R1 is an experienced player and advances home. R1 crosses the plate before F2 can retrieve the ball and get back to the plate. HOWEVER, BR, after a slow start, hasn't reached 1st yet. F2 throws to F3, F3 touches 1st. If I'm understanding the posts here, R1 run still doesn't count. Is that correct? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Yes, I'm probably stretching, but my mind doesn't seem to be working right.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Think of it this way. Until BR has touched first safely, there is no score. That should pretty much answer your question.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Consider this one: R1 on 3B and R2 on 1B with 1 out, BR grounds into a 6-4-3 double play. Two distinct 'plays' were made, but the run does NOT score even if R1 touches home before out #2 (i.e. during the first play).
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
To be consistent you'd have to be willing to make this call or explain some way in which it's different. ________ Avandia settlement Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:35pm. |
|
|||
|
I disagree; to be consistent, we apply the official rules unless we're explicitly told otherwise by the house rules. There may well be some cases where there is no clear-cut way to handle situations that were not clarified by the house rules, but those rare, convoluted situations should not be taken as the norm for applying official rules.
|
|
|||
|
League rules supercede the rulebook - they do not invalidate it except where it must.
I will admit that in your scenario that I summarized, I would have no run. Crucify me if you want. Maybe it's partially because that just doesn't happen here. Coaches don't yell out "5 runs!" and then everyone leaves the field. Once the play is over, the UMPIRE tells everyone there have been 5 runs. If a coach told his players to leave the field before the play is over, and somehow R2 andR3 exited the field after reaching their bases but BEFORE BR, and BR ends up being the 3rd out - no run. By rule.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
________ WEB SHOWS Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:35pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| question about some rules! | Sooner5900 | Basketball | 2 | Sun Dec 20, 2009 09:11am |
| rules question | devdog69 | Basketball | 3 | Sun Jan 23, 2005 04:10pm |
| Rules Question | stevesmith | Lacrosse | 8 | Sat Mar 27, 2004 07:38am |
| "Tag Up" rules question | jhughe90 | Softball | 3 | Fri Mar 26, 2004 04:33pm |
| Rules question | JoeD1 | Basketball | 2 | Fri Nov 24, 2000 10:17pm |