![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
________ FetishStormX Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:33pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
With no outs and the bases loaded, the BR hits a sac fly for the 6th run. Unfortunately, the runner at third leaves early. The runner scores and everyone runs off the field from the offense. The defense then appeals that the runner at third left early. Yes, he did and is out. Do you then call another runner out to end the inning? You are making up rules here to deal with the league rule. I say make up good ones if you have to make up rules. ________ KIDS PAXIL Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:33pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
It's very simple. A BR who is awarded first base on a base-on-balls is out if she leaves the field of play without going to first. Right? And a run cannot score on a play where the 3rd out is made on a BR before she reaches first. Very simple, and no inventing of rules.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
________ LIVE SEX WEBSHOWS Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:33pm. |
|
|||
Absolutely.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:33pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Read your rule book carefully. It clearly states that "no run, (meaning zero, zilch, zip, nada), can score" when the third out of the inning is made by the batter-runner before reaching first base. In this case, the batter-runner was out prior to reaching first base, because she opted to leave the field of play instead. So, how many runs can score? Zero.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Oh...and if you need a rule reference, check out NFHS 9.1.a. for this. I don't have my ASA, USSSA, or NCAA books with me at work. (Actually, I don't have my NFHS book here either, but I do have that handy dandy digital version available.)
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
A solid argument might be made that we should be consistent with game ending procedures and I could respect that though I think it's less in line with how the game is actually played. The argument that the league rule can't change this rule but only other rules is somewhat lost on me though. |
|
|||
Quote:
Now, if the OP said that they "have a six run per inning rule, and that the runners who are forced to advance do not have to do so if the sixth run will score as a result of an award, and that no fourth out appeal, nor any other action by a player, coach or umpire can nullify a run once it has scored," I might be willing to entertain your argument. However, the OP never stated anything remotely close to that, and I am sure that no PARD director in their right mind (I know some who aren't) would ever make such a league rule. You are really reaching here to defend an argument that has little to no merit and subsequently muddying the waters for those officials, players and coaches who might be reading this forum in hope of getting some concise answers.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
The league rule CAN change other rules. They can, should they choose, specify that a batter in THIS ONE case doesn't have to go to first. But they didn't ... so why are you choosing to add a rule that doesn't exist? Just because an inning (or game, really!) APPEARS to be over does not mean it's over. I have a coach that consistently tells his players to complete the play (on either side of the ball) in situations where the run-limit is reached or in cases where it appears the game is over. Several thought he was either crazy, or just trying to get in extra practice... Until the one day, where he needed 5 (the run rule in that league) to win the game. 4 runs in, tie game, R1 on 2nd, R1 on first. 1 out. Ball hit to right. R1 misses 3rd and scores. R1 also scores and BR stops at 2nd. The other coach appealed the miss at 3rd and got the 2nd out - but since his team kept playing, they won anyway. Had R1 not continued, we'd have had to keep playing that game. I've seen this team get "outs" on defense after the apparent inning-ending run had scored, and so far it hasn't mattered, but it COULD, in much the same manner as above.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
question about some rules! | Sooner5900 | Basketball | 2 | Sun Dec 20, 2009 09:11am |
rules question | devdog69 | Basketball | 3 | Sun Jan 23, 2005 04:10pm |
Rules Question | stevesmith | Lacrosse | 8 | Sat Mar 27, 2004 07:38am |
"Tag Up" rules question | jhughe90 | Softball | 3 | Fri Mar 26, 2004 04:33pm |
Rules question | JoeD1 | Basketball | 2 | Fri Nov 24, 2000 10:17pm |