The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 13, 2010, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Don't have my ASA book with me, but I could peruse the NCAA rules (thanks to a nice little iPhone app), and it would appear that in the case of a batted ball that has already hit the ground prior to deflecting off of the player into dead ball territory would in fact result in a two base award to both the batter and the runner.

Of course, had it deflected off the player in flight and gone over the HR fence in fair territory, it would be a four base award.

I don't think that ASA would be much, if any, different in this ruling. So, Mike, what's the catch here?
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball four, runners moving, pass ball, out of play... JasonWilliam Baseball 14 Mon Oct 19, 2009 09:50pm
Post Script to: "I played pro ball! Did you play pro ball?" Kevin Finnerty Baseball 46 Sat May 23, 2009 05:58pm
"Wrong ball" play makes it to Pee-Wee ball OverAndBack Football 32 Sat Sep 22, 2007 03:00pm
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am
ball out of play ? Glen G Softball 6 Tue May 20, 2003 11:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1