![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Besides, 8.5.G refers to an overthrown or blocked ball. The scenario involves neither.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Two base award from TOP (8-5-I-1).
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
But this is a deflected ball. In 8.5.I.2 through 4, ASA specifically addresses deflected balls, so why assume 8.5.I.1 would include a deflected ball?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Because it doesn't say that it MUST be deflected.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
I understand that. And because you expect it of me, let me add, No $ hit!
![]() However, my question still stands. If ASA goes through the trouble of addressing a deflected ball in three of the four paragraphs, why would you assume the paragraph that does not also applies? If you look at paragraph #1 and apply it to all live, fair batted balls, deflected or otherwise, would that not make the three subsequent paragraphs redundant?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
Thought I read a rules/clarifications scenario which may also have been a test question at some point.
It was a batted ball that hits the fence, bounces back and contacts the fielder, and then bounces over the fence in what would be fair territory. I believe the award was two bases for the batter, but I don't recall if runners award(s) was based on TOP. I think that would be the logical option.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Uggh! Of course. Back to the drawing board.
|
|
|||
|
As much as I'd like to use 8.5.I.2, it reads: "Deflects off a defensive player and goes out of play in foul territory."
In the sitch it went over the RCF fence.....so again I find myself looking at a square peg and trying to fit it into a round hole. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ball four, runners moving, pass ball, out of play... | JasonWilliam | Baseball | 14 | Mon Oct 19, 2009 09:50pm |
| Post Script to: "I played pro ball! Did you play pro ball?" | Kevin Finnerty | Baseball | 46 | Sat May 23, 2009 05:58pm |
| "Wrong ball" play makes it to Pee-Wee ball | OverAndBack | Football | 32 | Sat Sep 22, 2007 03:00pm |
| Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations | BJ Moose | Baseball | 20 | Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am |
| ball out of play ? | Glen G | Softball | 6 | Tue May 20, 2003 11:05am |