The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Ball Out of Play

ASA

Runner on 2B. Batter hits a shot that short hops the outfielder, glances off his shoulder and over the RCF fence.

Where do you put the runners?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 08:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
ASA

Runner on 2B. Batter hits a shot that short hops the outfielder, glances off his shoulder and over the RCF fence.

Where do you put the runners?
Because of the fact..."glances off his shoulder.." I would go with:
8.5.G.
EXCEPTION

1. When a fielder loses possession of the ball, and the ball leaves live ball territory or becomes blocked.
EFFECT Each runner is awarded one base from the last base touched at the time the ball entered dead territory or becomes blocked.

Runner on 2B gets home. BR gets 2B.

I know its not a perfect fit as I'm taking "glances off his shoulder" to be the same as loosing possession, and the sitch clearly indicates there was never any possession of the ball on the part of the fielder.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
Because of the fact..."glances off his shoulder.." I would go with:
8.5.G.
EXCEPTION
1. When a fielder loses possession of the ball, and the ball leaves live ball territory or becomes blocked.
EFFECT Each runner is awarded one base from the last base touched at the time the ball entered dead territory or becomes blocked.

Runner on 2B gets home. BR gets 2B.

I know its not a perfect fit as I'm taking "glances off his shoulder" to be the same as loosing possession, and the sitch clearly indicates there was never any possession of the ball on the part of the fielder.
How can a player lose possession of a ball they never held, let alone possess? I don't know, helluva stretch.

Besides, 8.5.G refers to an overthrown or blocked ball. The scenario involves neither.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Two base award from TOP (8-5-I-1).
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Two base award from TOP (8-5-I-1).
But this is a deflected ball. In 8.5.I.2 through 4, ASA specifically addresses deflected balls, so why assume 8.5.I.1 would include a deflected ball?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
But this is a deflected ball. In 8.5.I.2 through 4, ASA specifically addresses deflected balls, so why assume 8.5.I.1 would include a deflected ball?
Because it doesn't say that it MUST be deflected.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 09:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
How can a player lose possession of a ball they never held, let alone possess? I don't know, helluva stretch.

Besides, 8.5.G refers to an overthrown or blocked ball. The scenario involves neither.
Uggh! Of course. Back to the drawing board.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 09:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
As much as I'd like to use 8.5.I.2, it reads: "Deflects off a defensive player and goes out of play in foul territory."
In the sitch it went over the RCF fence.....so again I find myself looking at a square peg and trying to fit it into a round hole.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball four, runners moving, pass ball, out of play... JasonWilliam Baseball 14 Mon Oct 19, 2009 09:50pm
Post Script to: "I played pro ball! Did you play pro ball?" Kevin Finnerty Baseball 46 Sat May 23, 2009 05:58pm
"Wrong ball" play makes it to Pee-Wee ball OverAndBack Football 32 Sat Sep 22, 2007 03:00pm
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am
ball out of play ? Glen G Softball 6 Tue May 20, 2003 11:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1