View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 17, 2010, 06:23pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
49) A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out between the two bases where the obstruction occurred.

A. True
B. False YOUR ANSWER
Reference: 8-4-3b Pen a

I will stick by my guns that I got this one correct. The question is misleading.

Here is that rule reference. a. If the obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction, a dead ball is called and the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction will be awarded the base or bases which would have been reached, in the umpire's judgment, had there not been obstruction. An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where she was obstructed.
The answer IS true. Just because an umpire called an OBS runner out, doesn't mean that the runner is ruled out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote