The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 02, 2010, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The 503
Posts: 785
Using NFHS (ASA might be similar):

What you have to keep in mind here is the look back rule (LBR). Once the B/R has touched 1B and the pitcher has the ball in the pitching circle without attempting a play on any runner, the LBR is in effect. With the rule in effect:

If the runner comes back to and touches 1B she must stay there.

If the runner is off a base, once she stops she must make a choice of which base to go towards. She cannot change direction after she makes the decision.

There are some rules that specifically cover a B/R overrunning 1B.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yscleo View Post
If B/R runs through 1B in straight line, turns 180 degrees around to head in straight line toward 1B, then just before touching 1B, takes off toward 2B, I suppose that's still ok.
If the pitcher has the ball in the circle before the B/R turns around, the B/R would have to return to 1B.
Quote:
Originally Posted by yscleo View Post
If B/R runs touching the orange part through 1B at a slight angle to right and goes into foul territory, then comes back toward 1B, and before touching 1B takes off toward 2B, seems like that's also ok?
If the pitcher has the ball in the circle before she turns toward foul territory, once she turns right she is committed to 1B.
Quote:
Originally Posted by yscleo View Post
If the B/R runs through 1B and has a slight angle toward 2B, in fair territory, then turns to come back toward 1B. Before touching 1B, the B/R suddenly takes off toward 2B. So this is slightly different than 1. (which is a contuous run toward 2B), but is at first heading back toward 1B, before sudden turning to head toward 2B. Is that ok?
If the pitcher has the ball in the circle before she turns back to 1B, she is committed to 1B.

I think I got this right but I will get corrected if I'm wrong...
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA Batter-Runner INT IRISHMAFIA Softball 7 Tue Mar 02, 2010 08:04pm
tag on batter/runner shipwreck Softball 30 Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:28am
Batter walks and overruns 1st base Hi Neighbor Softball 9 Tue May 02, 2006 01:36pm
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm
Batter/runner Wclapper Softball 5 Sun Mar 12, 2000 03:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1