![]() |
|
|||
![]()
Here is what I had at a 15U ASA game:
R!, R2: B3 hit a long on to F8 and R1 and R2 is off on the pitch. R2 is "packing the mail" and the 3rd base coach is screaming "Go back! Go back!" F8 misplays the ball and R1 and R2 end up on 2nd base as F9 throws the ball to F3. F3 throws the ball to F5 as the 3rd base coach is screaming "Run!". F5 tags both R1 and R2 on 2nd base. R1 and R2 both walk off the base. They both get tagged again while off the base. I call both of them out and the OC goes bananas. The OC calls time and asks for an explanation. I said "both players were off the base and were tagged out." the 3rd base coach and the OH get into an argument in the middle of the field. I tell both coaches to "Knock it off and go back to where you belong!" My partner asked me why I did not throw someone out? I said " I needed the comic relief of almost having a fight start and having a ringside seat!" The game continued and it ended with the team winning. ![]()
__________________
Charles Johnson Jr NFHS Class #1 softball/baseball ASA/USSSA Dayton, Ohio I have been umpiring so long that it was called Rounders when I started. ![]() |
|
|||
charlie... first, you have your runners backward. Second, you should have called R1 (from second) IMMEDIATELY and clearly out when tagged on 2nd base as she was forced to vacate (this may have caused R2 (from 1st) to stay on 2nd. Sounds like, from your description, you called both out after they stepped off. (This is what I would have been yelling at you if I was the coach ... and yes, I'd have gotten ejected - if you didn't call the out when the out was made, you put the other runner (who was never in jeopardy) in jeopardy)
PS - who is OH ... and why isn't partner out there getting one of the coaches away from you?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() NOBODY was tagged on ANY BASE correctly (I forgot to put that in)! No play was being made on the correct runner! The 3rd base coach was yelling at the runners! They were tagged off base! ![]()
__________________
Charles Johnson Jr NFHS Class #1 softball/baseball ASA/USSSA Dayton, Ohio I have been umpiring so long that it was called Rounders when I started. ![]() Last edited by charliej47; Thu May 27, 2010 at 11:38am. |
|
|||
Are you sure this was ASA? ASA does not have 15U.
![]()
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Sure they do! They just usually play in 16U or 18U.
![]()
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
The coach told me they were U15 - other team was a U16. This happened last year (09) and it was a bad game because of the coaches.
__________________
Charles Johnson Jr NFHS Class #1 softball/baseball ASA/USSSA Dayton, Ohio I have been umpiring so long that it was called Rounders when I started. ![]() |
|
|||
Actually, that is the correct age-wise designation for what ASA calls 14U.
![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
And as an aside, I surely don't care about the 3rd base coach.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
I have an out here as well, unless you wrote that incorrectly. 2 runners on the same base and both are tagged, then 1 of them has to be out. Though I do wonder what F5 was doing way over at 2B. One of them was already out. And as already stated, by not calling that out, you have placed the other in jeopardy, who likely would not have left the base. |
|
|||
Gotta say, if I were the runner, I would keep my butt on that base until called out, not wander off... I say if they're off the bag, they're off the bag.
|
|
|||
Quote:
And considering it's USUALLY the younger ones where this happens, I'd feel pretty safe assuming that they (and coach) didn't know which was proper. I don't blame them for trying to go SOMEwhere. But if we call an out when it happens, as we should, we likely avoid the extra out. Thus... if we DON'T, we've put someone at jeopardy.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Sorry, I meant after I had been tug the first time. To clarify: there are 2 of us on the bag, and the fielder has tug both of us. I'm not going to assume that I'm out and wander off. I'm going to wait for the call.
And yes, I'm aware that young (8U) girls aren't going to think this way. However, I still say that if they are off the bag (for whatever reason) and they are tug, they are out. It is certainly a teachable moment after they get called out for wandering off the bag. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Occupying Free throw Spaces | NURef | Basketball | 26 | Tue Dec 16, 2008 10:22pm |
Two runners occupying the same base | Bart | Softball | 18 | Wed Sep 06, 2006 02:36pm |
Occupying Lanre Spaces ?? | vawils | Basketball | 10 | Thu Feb 10, 2005 05:14pm |
2 runners occupying the same base ... | 3afan | Softball | 16 | Tue May 18, 2004 09:11pm |
Lane Violation--occupying bottom spot(NCAA) | Buckley | Basketball | 3 | Wed Jan 19, 2000 03:57pm |