![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
For those of you that don't have access to the rule:
Pitching Procedure 10.2 Taking the Signal from the Catcher 10.2.1 Before starting a pitch, the pitcher must comply with the following: 10.2.1.1 Both feet must be on the ground in contact with the pitcher’s plate and a portion of the pivot foot must be on the top surface of the pitcher’s plate. Both feet must be within the 24-inch length of the pitcher’s plate. 10.2.1.2 Hands must be separated. 10.2.1.3 The ball must be held and remain in one hand, either bare or gloved. Notes: 1. Rolling (not tossing) the ball is legal as long as contact is maintained with the hand including the wrist. 2. A ball dropped by the pitcher before her hands have come together and then separated shall be live and base runner(s) may advance with liability to be put out. 10.2.1.4 The ball may be held in front of, at the side of or behind the body. 10.2.2 While in this position, the pitcher must take (or simulate taking) a signal from the catcher. EFFECT (10.2.1 to 10.2.2)—Illegal pitch. (See Rule 10.8) I have been told to enforce the rules as written, without discretion. So, to answer your question, no I haven't been instructed otherwise. So, the pitcher you were dicussing should have been called for an IP.
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
"...for taking the signal from behind the plate." I wasn't there and I trust that what the PU called is what he believes happened. True, F1 can take or simulate the taking of a sign on the pitcher's plate, but apparently that isn't what happened based on the call and the explanation. Why are we believing daddy's version when we don't have the PU's version?
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
|
|||
|
I'm not really asking anyone to believe one version or the other. I already allowed for the fact that maybe something was "lost in the translation", since I was getting a second hand account of the call. I tried getting all the information I could and tried to make sure I had an accurate account of what happened before posting.
All that is really irrelevant to my question. The question is "Does NCAA interpret this the same as does ASA/NFHS?", not "Who's account should you believe?". |
|
|||
|
My question would be how does the umpire know from where she was taking a signal?
I don't care how it is interpreted, until the umpire can answer this question, s/he shouldn't be making such a call.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
That's the point...
There is no rule aginst taking a signal from behind the plate... If the umpire called that anytime BEFORE the pitcher's hands came together, he was dead wrong. If he called it anythime after, he mis-stated the offense. BRETMAN: to answer your question in a word: YES |
|
|||
|
While searching through the NCAA web site for an interpretation on this, I came across a "Ask the Expert" section, headed by one Dee Abrahamson. I sent her an email with this question, figuring that I probably wouldn't hear anything back. I was sure that the NCAA folks have better things to do with their time!
To my surprise, I received a reply this evening. "You are absolutely correct...she can take as many signals as she wants BUT must take, or simulate taking, the last one once positioned on the pitcher's plate. Hope you can pass that along to her. Dee Abrahamson Senior Associate Athletic Director/SWA Northern Illinois University Convocation Center Suite 200 NCAA Softball Secretary Rules Editor" That works for me!
Last edited by BretMan; Mon Mar 29, 2010 at 06:47pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
BTW...you're lucky Bret, I sent her a question two weeks ago, got a form type e-mail confirmation that it was received....but still waiting for the answer to my question. KJ |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I understand why it may be necessary to use in the rules for the purpose of a point of reference, but even noting a "signal" is to be received or taken at any point just tends to confuse the point of the rule. You would think a comment as plain and simple as, "the pitcher must come to an obvious and deliberate stop while on the pitcher's plate with their hands separated" prior to beginning the pitch. F.Y.I., I'm not just referring to the NCAA here, but all rule sets.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Taking a signal or simulate taking a signal would also require that the pitcher be looking in at the catcher. So merely coming to an obvious and deliberate stop alone would not satisfy the requirements of the current rule. (What if the pitcher steps on, hands apart, motionless, but looking at the third baseman then brings her hands together to begin the pitch?)
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Balk/Illegal pitch question | IowaMike | Baseball | 6 | Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:12pm |
| A question for ASA slow pitch guys | Stu Clary | Softball | 23 | Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:00am |
| NCAA--Illegal Pitch?? | JRutledge | Baseball | 10 | Tue Apr 03, 2007 07:36am |
| Illegal Pitch Question | SF | Softball | 4 | Fri Jul 09, 2004 02:45pm |
| Illegal Pitch Question..... | Gulf Coast Blue | Softball | 3 | Mon Apr 29, 2002 10:33pm |