![]() |
|
|||
There's always something to Mike's apparently simple rule questions. He doesn't just post the easy ones.
I think he's getting at the point that the BR never moved. Hence the BR is still in the batter's box. Therefore, 8.2.F.3 wouldn't apply because the BR didn't "interfere with a thrown ball while out of the batter's box" 8.2.F.2 wouldn't apply, because the BR didn't "interfere with the fielder attempting to throw the ball." the ball had already been thrown. 8.2.F.1 wouldn't apply because once it hit F1, it's no longer a batted ball. Sounds like we have no way to call an out on the BR for interfering with a thrown ball while inside the box, intentional or not. Soooooo... Bad throw catcher, dead ball out of play, award B1 Home, B2 goes to 3B, and BR3 to 2B. Now is that what I'm gonna call on the field? Absolutely not... but I think that's what Mike is geting at - the literal interpretation of the rule.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
tag on batter/runner | shipwreck | Softball | 30 | Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:28am |
Is the batter-runner out? | M&M Guy | Softball | 6 | Fri Sep 22, 2006 04:20pm |
Batter-Runner Running to first... | Chukinrox | Baseball | 15 | Wed Jul 26, 2006 08:33am |
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter | wfwbb | Baseball | 12 | Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm |
Batter/runner | Wclapper | Softball | 5 | Sun Mar 12, 2000 03:33pm |