View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 02, 2010, 05:53pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Personally, I would apply 8.7-J(3); because, as I stated in the other related thread, the batter-runner is a subset of runners, and all rules applying to runners also apply to batter-runners (unless a specific rule applying only to batter-runners contradicts).

I would have a difficult time with the (3) EFFECT double play, because on this play there is no immediately trailing runner. By the OP, since this wasn't an attempt to break up the double play (throws hands up in disgust), I would apply the (1-2, 4) EFFECT that rules interference, dead ball, all others return.

If it were clearly an attempt to prevent the double play, I'm getting the lead runner, as well as the batter-runner; and challenge the OC (and UIC, if necessary) to find a rule that says I can't call R1 the trailing runner which play was interfered with!!
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote