The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 21, 2010, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Appeal a turn toward second.

Question around FED 8-4-2(b)

R1 at 3B, no outs. BR hits ball to F5 and then is safe at 1B. She overruns down the right field line. R1 held at 3B and does not score.

While BR is approximate 30 or 40 feet down the line, she makes an attempt for 2B and then turns back toward 1B and just stops. F3 while holding the ball steps on 1B and appeals that F3 has made an attempt for second. BU rules B2 is out on appeal since F3 is not expected to chase B2 into right field to tag her out, especially with a runner at third.

Anyone disagree?
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 21, 2010, 06:20pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Yes. I disagree.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 21, 2010, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW View Post
Yes. I disagree.
Me, too. F3 would have been smarter to throw the ball to the pitcher in the circle.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 21, 2010, 07:12pm
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
I agree with the ruling. If the umpire did not honor the appeal and call the out, B2 could stop and just stand without returning to 1st base, F3 could stand on 1st base, and the 3rd base runner would stand off base. At some point the umpire must make a call to continue the ball game.

If the ball is thrown to the pitcher after the attempt, the defense has lost the out. There has to be an out for the attempt.

Last edited by Tex; Thu Jan 21, 2010 at 07:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 21, 2010, 07:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex View Post
I agree with the ruling. If the umpire did not honor the appeal and call the out, B2 could stop and just stand without returning to 1st base, F3 could stand on 1st base, and the 3rd base runner would stand off base. At some point the umpire must make a call to continue the ball game.
So when the runner heads toward 2B during the live ball without being tagged, how are you going to support the ruling when it is protested?

It's a live ball and the runner is allowed to advance at their own peril. Unless the runner missed the base (which is not part of this scenario), there is no appeal available at that point.

Quote:
If the ball is thrown to the pitcher after the attempt, the defense has lost the out. There has to be an out for the attempt.
If F3 threw the ball to the pitcher in the circle, the LBR is in effect the the runner cannot change her mind.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 21, 2010, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Unless the runner missed the base (which is not part of this scenario), there is no appeal available at that point.
When a runner misses 1B and overruns, we call safe or out depending on where the runner was when the fielder received the throw. This is an appeal by the defense and must be done before the runner gets back to the base.

A lot of times F3 [or F4 covering 1B in bunt situations] will not realize the runner missed the base. Often times, the runner does realize s/he missed the base. Some runners are blatantly obvious in their attempt to get back, some are blatantly oblivious, some are very cool about it hoping no one noticed.

The question after all this is can anyone on the defense appeal the runner missing the base? Different for ASA/NFHS?

On a routine play, F1 or F4 may be in the best situation to see this [if they actually pay attention]. If they yell out "she missed the base!" do we accept the appeal as such, or must the runner be physically tagged?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 21, 2010, 10:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
When a runner misses 1B and overruns, we call safe or out depending on where the runner was when the fielder received the throw. This is an appeal by the defense and must be done before the runner gets back to the base.
Yes, I'm well aware of that, but that was not the case here and only mentioned as the only live ball appeal available and resolved by simple touching the base while in possession of the ball.

Quote:
A lot of times F3 [or F4 covering 1B in bunt situations] will not realize the runner missed the base. Often times, the runner does realize s/he missed the base. Some runners are blatantly obvious in their attempt to get back, some are blatantly oblivious, some are very cool about it hoping no one noticed.
Okay, still off topic.

Quote:
The question after all this is can anyone on the defense appeal the runner missing the base? Different for ASA/NFHS?
No, that wasn't the question.

Quote:
On a routine play, F1 or F4 may be in the best situation to see this [if they actually pay attention]. If they yell out "she missed the base!" do we accept the appeal as such, or must the runner be physically tagged?
Maybe you should start another thread instead of hijacking this one.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Thu Jan 21, 2010 at 10:31pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 21, 2010, 10:50pm
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
There is a proper live ball appeal with F3 holding the ball while standing on 1st base, concerning the batter-runner’s attempt toward 2nd base that must be addressed. I am not going to allow all 3 players to stop and stare at each other waiting for something to happen. The umpire must make a ruling on the live ball appeal before allowing the next part of this play to continue (that of the LBR to be in effect).

Allowing the LBR to be in effect allows all 3 players to go to their proper base / position as nothing happened, thus removing the live ball appeal.

Now how are you going to handle the protest of not addressing the proper live ball appeal of the batter runner’s attempt toward 2nd base at the proper time, and allowing this play to continue?

The live ball appeal must be addressed first.

Again I have an out on the batter-runner on the proper live ball appeal. Now throw the ball to F1 and engage the LBR and allow the play to continue.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Ump View Post
. . . since F3 is not expected to chase BR into right field. . .
Great input everyone. Thanks!

I'm positive I read this interpretation several years back, especially the part I have quoted above. (And, no, it was no it was not talking about BR running from F3, but specifically noted F3 not moving.)

The part I'm not positive about is how many years, which manual/magazine and whether it was SP, FP or even baseball. I'm pretty sure it was some place that I at least thought at the time was an authoritative source. Thanks for straighten me out.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 05:22pm
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
Good discussion here.

What the group is saying is that:
1) A live ball appeal can not be made on the batter-runner while off base in this situation.
2) Also that the defense must force the issue and tag the batter-runner to get an out.

Now explain what is the umpire to do, if anything, when F3 stands on 1st base holding the ball, the batter-runner stands where she is (about 30 feet from 1st base), and the 3rd base runner stands off her base. They all stare at each other and no movement.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Stand there and wait for someone to actually make a play.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 05:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex View Post
Good discussion here.

What the group is saying is that:
1) A live ball appeal can not be made on the batter-runner while off base in this situation.
2) Also that the defense must force the issue and tag the batter-runner to get an out.

Now explain what is the umpire to do, if anything, when F3 stands on 1st base holding the ball, the batter-runner stands where she is (about 30 feet from 1st base), and the 3rd base runner stands off her base. They all stare at each other and no movement.
Anything we do must have the support of the rules. And, there is no rule support to do anything with this play. Until the players play this to a completion, live ball, play is in progress.

1) Runner is not out, because nothing makes the runner out.
2) You cannot properly call "time"; ASA 10.4-E "An umpire will not call time while any play is in progress ..." and ASA 10.4-H An umpire will not suspend play at the request of players, coaches or managers until all action in progress has been completed."

The most you can do is state something like "The ball is live until returned to the pitcher and runners return to their bases", or "I cannot call that runner out unless you tag her off the base", or "I cannot grant time will the ball is in play and runners are in jeopardy". Until they resolve it, you cannot actively "do" anything, or apply any rule.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 24, 2010, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Anything we do must have the support of the rules. And, there is no rule support to do anything with this play. Until the players play this to a completion, live ball, play is in progress.

1) Runner is not out, because nothing makes the runner out.
2) You cannot properly call "time"; ASA 10.4-E "An umpire will not call time while any play is in progress ..." and ASA 10.4-H An umpire will not suspend play at the request of players, coaches or managers until all action in progress has been completed."

The most you can do is state something like "The ball is live until returned to the pitcher and runners return to their bases", or "I cannot call that runner out unless you tag her off the base", or "I cannot grant time will the ball is in play and runners are in jeopardy". Until they resolve it, you cannot actively "do" anything, or apply any rule.
I don't think I've ever had this situation, however in similar situations (in FP), I have said something like, "Let's play ball" in my most officious umpire voice. Next thing I know they are doing something.

Last edited by HugoTafurst; Sun Jan 24, 2010 at 12:04pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2010, 07:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Anything we do must have the support of the rules. And, there is no rule support to do anything with this play. Until the players play this to a completion, live ball, play is in progress.

1) Runner is not out, because nothing makes the runner out.
2) You cannot properly call "time"; ASA 10.4-E "An umpire will not call time while any play is in progress ..." and ASA 10.4-H An umpire will not suspend play at the request of players, coaches or managers until all action in progress has been completed."

The most you can do is state something like "The ball is live until returned to the pitcher and runners return to their bases", or "I cannot call that runner out unless you tag her off the base", or "I cannot grant time will the ball is in play and runners are in jeopardy". Until they resolve it, you cannot actively "do" anything, or apply any rule.
Steve - It's NOT up to us to "coach" the players. Example: (ASA SP)I had R1 on 1st, no outs. Fly ball to right field. R1 comes off the base 5 FEET as the ball is in-flight (and I had him lined up with the RFer). The ball is caught by RF and R1 advances to 2nd without tagging up. Now, I'm THINKING "appeal play." The ball is thrown to an infielder and I DELAYED calling "time." The 3rd baseman says: "Blue, he left the base too soon." I say nothing. The ball is then thrown to the pitcher. It is now obvious to me NO appeal play is forthcoming. So now I call "time." I go back behind HP, the next batter comes up and I signal/call "play ball." The defense never repeated the appeal. Had they simply STATED the appeal during the "dead ball" period, I would have ruled the runner out. And, was I ever ready to ring him up.
__________________
Umpiring is best described as standing between two 7-year olds - and you have only one ice cream cone.

Last edited by Stevetheump; Sun Jan 31, 2010 at 07:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2010, 08:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetheump View Post
Steve - It's NOT up to us to "coach" the players. Example: (ASA SP)I had R1 on 1st, no outs. Fly ball to right field. R1 comes off the base 5 FEET as the ball is in-flight (and I had him lined up with the RFer). The ball is caught by RF and R1 advances to 2nd without tagging up. Now, I'm THINKING "appeal play." The ball is thrown to an infielder and I DELAYED calling "time." The 3rd baseman says: "Blue, he left the base too soon." I say nothing. The ball is then thrown to the pitcher. It is now obvious to me NO appeal play is forthcoming. So now I call "time." I go back behind HP, the next batter comes up and I signal/call "play ball." The defense never repeated the appeal. Had they simply STATED the appeal during the "dead ball" period, I would have ruled the runner out. And, was I ever ready to ring him up.
IMO, that may have been over-officious and missed the play. If all play was apparently completed, which means R1 is not showing any indication of advancing to the next or previous base and the defense wasn't attempting to make a live ball appeal, you probably should have called time and accepted the appeal.

Don't know why you would delay calling time if nothing was imminent.

BTW, the ball is not dead when a pitch hits the ground in all SP.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B-R turn at 1B tcannizzo Softball 6 Mon Nov 17, 2008 12:03pm
I guess it was my turn. Rich Basketball 18 Sun Jan 14, 2007 04:43pm
Everyone Turn On PMs Snake~eyes Basketball 9 Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:11pm
OK...my turn Bob M. Football 22 Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:57am
My turn!!! Suppref Basketball 4 Fri Mar 02, 2001 06:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1