![]() |
|
|
|||
It's kind of the red-headed stepchild of the four appealable situations listed in the rule book, but the rule is clear it is an appeal play (2-2d). It's just not an appeal in the same mold as the others. It is also unique in that it must be a live ball appeal and it must be accomplished by appying a tag to the runner while she's off the base.
If you accept the premise that this is an appealable play (which might be hard to accept, but it's right there in the rule book), the question becomes: What do we do if we have an appealable play, the defensive player attempts to make the appeal, but the player does not properly execute the appeal? |
|
|||
xactly. it is an appealable play, improperly appealed by the defense. the umpire must rule.
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
- no ruling, wait for players to do something legitimate - please type replies after the quotes to make it easier for all to follow
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
I can only repeat, this appears to me to fully comply with an appealable play that is improperly appealed by the defense. umpire is obligated to make a call. the umpire's manual is explicit on this, that no ruling is not an option.
|
|
|||
Quote:
And like Cecil already stated, please type your response after you quote someone, not before. |
|
|||
2010-2011 NFHS umpires manual, p12 re:appeals. just read it. everyone should have one.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Now that I think some more, the action "F3 while holding the ball steps on 1B and appeals that F3 has made an attempt for second" deserves a response. A safe signal and verbal would be appropriate because the fielder is asking for a ruling.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Exactly, since it is not in the same mold as other appeal plays, the umpire must treat in differently; in fact, exactly the same as tagging a runner off the base. The general instruction for appeals in both the rule book and the umpire manual largely do not apply to this so-called appeal. For example, the rule book merely says this situation is a live ball appeal only, so why isn't tagging the base a proper appeal? Well, because 8-6-8 says the runner must be tagged.
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
B-R turn at 1B | tcannizzo | Softball | 6 | Mon Nov 17, 2008 12:03pm |
I guess it was my turn. | Rich | Basketball | 18 | Sun Jan 14, 2007 04:43pm |
Everyone Turn On PMs | Snake~eyes | Basketball | 9 | Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:11pm |
OK...my turn | Bob M. | Football | 22 | Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:57am |
My turn!!! | Suppref | Basketball | 4 | Fri Mar 02, 2001 06:37pm |