![]() |
|
|||
|
We've previously discussed the situation with runners on base and the BR hits an over the fence HR and passes the runner on 1B. (Let's not muddy this w/ the SP version and no one has to run any bases.)
In a situation with 2 outs if this happens, the BR is immediately declared out, but all preceeding runners are allowed to score, even after the third out has been made. Now the HR is a dead ball so the preceeding runners are allowed to score. In my situation when R1 is hurt after the obstruction, we have a delayed dead ball. R1 wasn't the runner who passed another runner as mentioned, but the BR, I think, should be called out for passing another runner. If the preceeding runners can score on a "grand slam single", I'm inclined to allow R1 to score since she was obstructed, we had a delayed dead ball, and she's entitled to HP. I'm sure a lot of you veteran umps could sell it either way. By rule, what's the proper call?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Obstructed Runner | blueump | Softball | 5 | Sun Jan 17, 2010 08:21pm |
| coach physically assists runner | jodibuck | Softball | 2 | Mon Feb 09, 2009 09:37am |
| Obstructed Runner on an Out | blueump | Baseball | 10 | Tue May 22, 2007 03:42pm |
| Physically assisting a runner or not? | C'monBlue | Baseball | 9 | Tue Jul 06, 2004 07:52am |
| runner returning to touch base | shipwreck | Softball | 15 | Fri Mar 29, 2002 09:14am |