Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by robbie  In NSA it is a dead ball.  Yes, in general a Delayed dead ball, but immediately dead if a play is being made on the obstructed runner. | 
	
 I cannot dispute NSA rulings.  However, in ASA (original post), NFHS, and NCAA, the ball remains live with a delayed dead ball 
UNLESS the obstructed runner is otherwise out when played on while still protected.  ASA citation 8.5-B, R/S 36, NFHS 8-4-3(b), NCAA 9.3.
Otherwise:
In ASA, the obstructed runner can be called out for missing a base, despite the obstruction, if properly appealed (8-5.B(1) Exception d Effect, R/S 36).  The runner entering dead ball territory ends any opportunity to legally return, as would a succeeding runner scoring.