The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 3.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2009, 09:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
I know nothing about NSA. If it stays live, it is one of a kind.

But in ASA, NFHS, NCAA, and ISF, a LBR violation is a dead ball.
Well........... Guess thats a good thing for the NSA. At lease we can get multiple outs for LBR violation on the same play. Apparently, other codes cannot.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2009, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
Well........... Guess thats a good thing for the NSA. At lease we can get multiple outs for LBR violation on the same play. Apparently, other codes cannot.
I don't know NSA; have never called an NSA game. With that caveat, the idea that the ball is live after a look back violation in NSA got me interested, so I looked up the rule book and the case book.

The rule book does not state that the ball is dead in the look back rule (8-8-x); it doesn't state that it is live, either. Likewise, the look back rule is not mentioned in the "dead ball" rule (9-1), but neither is it mentioned in the "ball in play" rule (9-2).

HOWEVER, it is mentioned in the Case Book, in the two case plays under the 8.8x cases where an out is recorded, the ruling says the ball is dead. It also says only one out may be recorded on the LBR.
Quote:
8.8x In Fastpitch, Look Back Rule: R1 leaves 3B legally, R2 leaves 2B legally, B1 walks, F2 returns the ball directly to F1 who is in the circle, R1 & R2 stand still off base as F1 watches B1 round 1B.

Ruling: 8.8.x Dead Ball, R1 is out. Once B1 reaches 1B both R1 & R2 must return or advance. However, only one out may be recorded on this play.

8.8x In Fastpitch, Look Back Rule: B1 hits the ball to F4; B1 is safe at 1B; B1 overruns 1B and circles to the right. The ball is returned to F1 in the 16 foot circle. B1 breaks toward 2B.

Ruling: 8.8.x Dead Ball, B1 is out. When B1 turned right, B1 was committed to returning to 1B.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2009, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Whitley, IN
Posts: 180
Tom beat me to the punch, and nailed it of course. Robbie, this is only my first year doing NSA, but I find nothing to support keeping the ball live in the rule book or case book. I'll email Terri (if I remember correctly you're also from Indiana) to ask her if I'm wrong, but I believe NSA treats the LBR the same as every other code.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2009, 08:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlitzkriegBob View Post
Tom beat me to the punch, and nailed it of course. Robbie, this is only my first year doing NSA, but I find nothing to support keeping the ball live in the rule book or case book. I'll email Terri (if I remember correctly you're also from Indiana) to ask her if I'm wrong, but I believe NSA treats the LBR the same as every other code.
Thanks for the replies. Here in lies one of the major problems with NSA rules. It is generally accepted (at least in Indiana) that the case book for NSA has no merit. There are definately several "cases" in the book that are devinbately wrong. This, of course, may or may not be one of them.

There are several "mistakes, typos, contradictions, etc" in the NSA book that I keep thinking I will write a major report to be presented to the annual meeting - But I never seem to be able to make time to do so.

I stopped refering to the case book for the reason stated above. In general I take the rules for face value, and in this case as stated - there is no rule to kill the play.

If I were in a game and called 2 outs on LBR and had a protest, I'm confident the rulling on the field would hold up. The UIC would have a rule book, and I would show that there is no provision to kill the play.

For what its worth (not much) - I worked a game last year with a Team Indiana staff member, and we had a situation where we did call the first LBR violation out and both rulled that the second runner "returned" quickly enough after her legal stop to avoid violation.

Having said all that - Not sure what Indiana would say the "intent" of the rule is. They certainly may say its dead.

PS:

Bob, Do I know you? Are you in Indiana? I know Terri well, and will inquire as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2009, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Does NSA kill the ball when a runner leaves the base prior to the release of a pitch?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 05, 2009, 01:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Does NSA kill the ball when a runner leaves the base prior to the release of a pitch?
Yes - Dead ball, runner out.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 05, 2009, 01:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
Yes - Dead ball, runner out.
Actually, the correct mechanic is: No pitch. Runner out.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 05, 2009, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Whitley, IN
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
Bob, Do I know you? Are you in Indiana? I know Terri well, and will inquire as well.
I don't think we've met, but I could be wrong. Yes, I live in South Whitley, which is in the Fort Wayne area. This is my first year doing NSA, and I didn't sign up until July. I've worked a few tournaments in Warsaw, but nowhere else. I don't remember having a partner named Robbie, but we very well could have been sitting next to each other in the umpires' room at some point if you also have worked in Warsaw. I'm hoping to work some more tournaments at the Dome in Fort Wayne during the winter.

I did email Terri, but have not had a response yet. It typically takes her a couple of days to respond, but once she does I'll share what she says, unless you hear from her first. FWIW, I have not had a LBR violation in any NSA games I've done so far, so it would be good to know I'm not supposed to kill the ball if that's the case, since I know that's what I would have done.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3' lane, 3' running lane, running lane


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running lane violation? David Emerling Baseball 25 Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:38am
The Running Lane tcblue13 Softball 21 Sun Jul 15, 2007 01:46pm
30' Running Lane bobbrix Softball 16 Mon Mar 08, 2004 12:20am
ASA - running lane violation with a walk Dakota Softball 34 Thu Sep 25, 2003 09:57am
running lane violation Rachel Softball 4 Thu Jul 10, 2003 09:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1