The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 31, 2009, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
ASA 8.7 THE RUNNER IS OUT

K. When a runner is struck with a fair untouched batted ball while not in contact with a base and before is passes another infielder excluding the pitcher, or it passes an infielder and another fielder has an opportunity to make an out.
EFFECT: The ball is dead and the runner is out. All other runners must return to the last base legally touched at the time of the interference.

Did the ball pass an infielderer? I know you are trying to apply common sense here. However, assuming R2 was not in contact with the base, the rules do not allow any call other than "out" on the given play.
How silly of you to actually try to apply the rule to the situation...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 31, 2009, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
How silly of you to actually try to apply the rule to the situation...
Yes Mike please tell us what infielder the ball passed ?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 31, 2009, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I know of no code, baseball or softball, under which the runner would not be out in the OP.

Codes do differ as to the runner being in contact with the bag when hit by the ball, and as to exactly what constitutes the ball's passing of an infielder.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 31, 2009, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRabbit View Post
Yes Mike please tell us what infielder the ball passed ?
I think you are addressing this to the wrong person.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 05, 2009, 06:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 162
agree with irish

why help out the offense or punish the defense....the runner needs to avoid contact with the ball...didnt meet the requirements of passing an infielder...deadball...out
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 05, 2009, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
The defense could position everybody except F1 and F2 along the right field line. If the batted ball hits the runner from 2B on his way to 3B, he's out.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 05, 2009, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post
The defense could position everybody except F1 and F2 along the right field line. If the batted ball hits the runner from 2B on his way to 3B, he's out.
Sounds like deja-vu all over again.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 07, 2009, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 123
What is the intent of the rule ?

Did the batter / runner interfere with a player having a chance at an out ?

Which player had a chance for an out ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 07, 2009, 05:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
What is the intent of the rule ?

To direct umpires as to how to call the play when a runner is hit by a fair batted ball.

Did the batter / runner interfere with a player having a chance at an out ?

No. But that's irrelevant unless the ball has already passed an infielder.

Which player had a chance for an out ?

None. But again it's irrelevant.

Think of it this way: on an uncaught third strike, the batter is out if 1B is occupied with less than 2 out. The intent of the rule is to keep F2 from "dropping" strike 3 and getting an easy double play. However, if the runner from 1B is stealing on the pitch, and strike 3 gets past F2 all the way to the backstop, F2 would have no chance at a double play and probably no chance to put either the runner or the batter out. But the batter is still out, even if the uncaught third strike bounces off F2 and goes into the dugout, because that's what the rule says.

This is not some ASA peculiarity. Every code I know of has the same rule, except that the codes differ a bit in what constitutes "passing an infielder."
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 09, 2009, 01:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The 503
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRabbit View Post
What is the intent of the rule ?

Did the batter / runner interfere with a player having a chance at an out ?

Which player had a chance for an out ?
But this is not a case in which we ask ourselves either of those last two questions. This is a rule that is spelled out clearly for us as written, so we call the play as directed by the rule.

(I like getting an out without having to think too hard about it. )
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 03:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 123
[QUOTE=SethPDX;619591]But this is not a case in which we ask ourselves either of those last two questions. This is a rule that is spelled out clearly for us as written, so we call the play as directed by the rule.


SethPDX

You do need to address these questions...

You need to look at R/S 44 section B....

While Not in Contact With a Base. A runner who is hit by a fair batted ball while not in contact with a base should be call out or ruled safe, depending on the interference rule.

(Rule 8, section 7 J & K or rule 8, section 8 D-F.


Again I ask who did the batter / Runner interfere with if there was not a player / players there to field the ball ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3rd base coach contacts runner Tru_in_Blu Softball 4 Wed Apr 01, 2009 10:22am
Obstructed runner contacts defender WestMichBlue Softball 3 Fri May 16, 2008 05:17pm
Bunted ball contacts bat twice officialtony Baseball 10 Mon Jul 11, 2005 03:58pm
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm
Defense kicking the ball IRISHMAFIA Softball 5 Mon Aug 12, 2002 06:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1