The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
This is SP, right? So...why didn't they just pull one of their outfielders to play in the F3 spot?
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 01:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
I have nothing, the ball did not pass another infielder or another fielder who an opportunity to make an out.
__________________
When in doubt, call an out!!

Last edited by azgreg; Thu Jul 30, 2009 at 01:03am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 07:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
ASA 8.7 THE RUNNER IS OUT

K. When a runner is struck with a fair untouched batted ball while not in contact with a base and before is passes another infielder excluding the pitcher, or it passes an infielder and another fielder has an opportunity to make an out.
EFFECT: The ball is dead and the runner is out. All other runners must return to the last base legally touched at the time of the interference.

Did the ball pass an infielderer? I know you are trying to apply common sense here. However, assuming R2 was not in contact with the base, the rules do not allow any call other than "out" on the given play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
ASA 8.7 THE RUNNER IS OUT

K. When a runner is struck with a fair untouched batted ball while not in contact with a base and before is passes another infielder excluding the pitcher, or it passes an infielder and another fielder has an opportunity to make an out.
EFFECT: The ball is dead and the runner is out. All other runners must return to the last base legally touched at the time of the interference.

Did the ball pass an infielderer? I know you are trying to apply common sense here. However, assuming R2 was not in contact with the base, the rules do not allow any call other than "out" on the given play.
But you can see that theres a qualifying statement in the last part of the rule "nother fielder has an opportunity to make an out". I wasnt there when the rules were written, but it doesnt take a giant leap in reasoning to believe this sentiment is also applicable in the first part of the rule "before is passes another infielder". Lets face it, the ASA rules arent the most well written document, and I dont think the rules ppl foresaw a team playing without a 1B.

That being said, technically its an out, but thats like a cop giving someone a jaywalking ticket when they walk 1' out of the crosswalk, yes they were out of the crosswalk but they were still in walking "in" the designated area.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveshane67 View Post
But you can see that theres a qualifying statement in the last part of the rule "nother fielder has an opportunity to make an out". I wasnt there when the rules were written, but it doesnt take a giant leap in reasoning to believe this sentiment is also applicable in the first part of the rule "before is passes another infielder". Lets face it, the ASA rules arent the most well written document, and I dont think the rules ppl foresaw a team playing without a 1B.

That being said, technically its an out, but thats like a cop giving someone a jaywalking ticket when they walk 1' out of the crosswalk, yes they were out of the crosswalk but they were still in walking "in" the designated area.
Let's take this example to a more likely (non-shorthanded) scenario, and say F3 is shifted to where F4 normally would play, with F4 playing behind second. Would you not have an out if R1 is two steps off first when struck by a batted ball? Absolutely. The ball had not passed an infielder, made contact with a runner while not in contact with the base.

"Opportunity to make an out" is not a requirement for this part of the rule. This only comes into play IF the ball passes an infielder.

To better use your crosswalk analogy: no crosswalk was painted at the street corner, but the pedestrian crossed in the middle of the street. Still breaking the law.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 123
ASA 8.7 THE RUNNER IS OUT

K. When a runner is struck with a fair untouched batted ball while not in contact with a base and before is passes another infielder excluding the pitcher, or it passes an infielder and another fielder has an opportunity to make an out.
EFFECT: The ball is dead and the runner is out. All other runners must return to the last base legally touched at the time of the interference.

Did the ball pass an infielderer? I know you are trying to apply common sense here. However, assuming R2 was not in contact with the base, the rules do not allow any call other than "out" on the given play.


I am not calling an out because of a DMD... "Dumb Move Defense" You show up short handed leaving position without a player and want me to call an out, I don't think so. For the rule to work you must have a player in the position. NO freebies.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRabbit View Post
I am not calling an out because of a DMD... "Dumb Move Defense" You show up short handed leaving position without a player and want me to call an out, I don't think so. For the rule to work you must have a player in the position. NO freebies.

If there is any dumb move, how about a runner getting hit by a ball batted by a team mate while there is no defensive presence or pressure?

For as much as we know, the team is shorthanded because one of their players was tripped with a fake tag going into 2B and could not continue .

Sorry, Bubba, but you lose the protest.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 31, 2009, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
ASA 8.7 THE RUNNER IS OUT

K. When a runner is struck with a fair untouched batted ball while not in contact with a base and before is passes another infielder excluding the pitcher, or it passes an infielder and another fielder has an opportunity to make an out.
EFFECT: The ball is dead and the runner is out. All other runners must return to the last base legally touched at the time of the interference.

Did the ball pass an infielderer? I know you are trying to apply common sense here. However, assuming R2 was not in contact with the base, the rules do not allow any call other than "out" on the given play.
How silly of you to actually try to apply the rule to the situation...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 31, 2009, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
How silly of you to actually try to apply the rule to the situation...
Yes Mike please tell us what infielder the ball passed ?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 31, 2009, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I know of no code, baseball or softball, under which the runner would not be out in the OP.

Codes do differ as to the runner being in contact with the bag when hit by the ball, and as to exactly what constitutes the ball's passing of an infielder.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 31, 2009, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRabbit View Post
Yes Mike please tell us what infielder the ball passed ?
I think you are addressing this to the wrong person.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 05, 2009, 06:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 162
agree with irish

why help out the offense or punish the defense....the runner needs to avoid contact with the ball...didnt meet the requirements of passing an infielder...deadball...out
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 05, 2009, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
The defense could position everybody except F1 and F2 along the right field line. If the batted ball hits the runner from 2B on his way to 3B, he's out.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 05, 2009, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post
The defense could position everybody except F1 and F2 along the right field line. If the batted ball hits the runner from 2B on his way to 3B, he's out.
Sounds like deja-vu all over again.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 01:03pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
This is SP, right? So...why didn't they just pull one of their outfielders to play in the F3 spot?
Drunk team involved?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3rd base coach contacts runner Tru_in_Blu Softball 4 Wed Apr 01, 2009 10:22am
Obstructed runner contacts defender WestMichBlue Softball 3 Fri May 16, 2008 05:17pm
Bunted ball contacts bat twice officialtony Baseball 10 Mon Jul 11, 2005 03:58pm
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm
Defense kicking the ball IRISHMAFIA Softball 5 Mon Aug 12, 2002 06:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1