The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 28, 2009, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
So if the ball is over foul territory when the BR passes the runner at 1B it doesn't count because the ball was live and foul at the time and if the BR passes the runner while the ball is over fair territory he is out even if it goes foul because the eventual result of the play is irrelevant and does not make the responsibilities of baserunning go away.
Again, you can't predict this action....rule fair or foul and then take appropriate actions.

Remember, a foul ball is a strike on a "batter" and does not turn him/her into a BR. Since he/she's not a "runner", he/she can't pass ANYBODY. Rule 7.4.G & Rule 8.1.A

"Batter" does beome a "Batter-Runner" on a clearly fair ball as in OP.

If the BR "passed" R3 who was tagging up (per OP), he/she has violated the rule ....if BR "stopped" on 1B AND R3 was still there, no violation.

Last edited by gumpire; Sun Jun 28, 2009 at 05:25pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BB situtation Shmuelg Softball 2 Wed Apr 06, 2005 04:16am
Your opinions MD Longhorn Softball 26 Fri Oct 03, 2003 04:26pm
Opinions please IRISHMAFIA Softball 11 Tue Jul 29, 2003 01:18pm
Opinions please. DanIn Softball 12 Mon Apr 28, 2003 11:45am
An interesting statement on three seconds, I look forward to your opinions CoaachJF Basketball 10 Sun Mar 02, 2003 07:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1