![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
per 8.7.d and 5.8.6(a) Quote:
BR is out number 3...half inning over. |
|
|||
Quote:
BR reached 1st if passing the runner at 1st.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
The 4 base award does not exist until the umpire awards it. So normal base running responsibilities apply. Unless the BR is extremely fast, I have hard time seeing him/her reaching 1st while R3 is still deciding if ball is caught/touched. And IF BR had that much speed, no reason he/she couldn't hold up short of 1B. Last edited by gumpire; Sun Jun 28, 2009 at 02:09pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
If they are not required to run the bases, how can you have a baserunner? If the batter stepped over 1B and then the ball was declared a home run or a 4-base award, are you going to allow an appeal for the missed base when the player wasn't required to touch it? By rule, it is either a HR or a four-base award for any fair batted ball which leaves the field in fair territory that does not touch the ground or front of the fence. It is not like the umpire has a choice. Also, by rule, the batter and each runner will be credited with a run. There are no exceptions noted where that would not occur. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
I don't think there's a rule anywhere that allows us umpires to "predict" what is going to happen. Last edited by gumpire; Sun Jun 28, 2009 at 04:16pm. |
|
|||
It is pretty clear that the intent of the runners not having to run on a home run/4 base award is to speed up the game.
It is not the intent that the rules or responsibilities of baserunning go away or don't apply. |
|
|||
So if the ball is over foul territory when the BR passes the runner at 1B it doesn't count because the ball was live and foul at the time and if the BR passes the runner while the ball is over fair territory he is out even if it goes foul because the eventual result of the play is irrelevant and does not make the responsibilities of baserunning go away.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne Ball into dead ball territory BR reached 1st if passing the runner at 1st. Just that it is a timing play, not a "BR did not reach 1st" out that prevents anyone from scoring. IOW, R1 might have scored from 3rd before the out (if there had been an out).
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
BB situtation | Shmuelg | Softball | 2 | Wed Apr 06, 2005 04:16am |
Your opinions | MD Longhorn | Softball | 26 | Fri Oct 03, 2003 04:26pm |
Opinions please | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 11 | Tue Jul 29, 2003 01:18pm |
Opinions please. | DanIn | Softball | 12 | Mon Apr 28, 2003 11:45am |
An interesting statement on three seconds, I look forward to your opinions | CoaachJF | Basketball | 10 | Sun Mar 02, 2003 07:47am |