The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Interesting situtation...opinions please. (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53781-interesting-situtation-opinions-please.html)

DeputyUICHousto Sun Jun 28, 2009 12:23am

Interesting situtation...opinions please.
 
Bases loaded with one out. Batter hits a long fly ball to left field. The batted ball deflects off of the left fielders glove and goes over the fence in fair territory. Runner on 1st base is holding to tag up. Batter/runner passes the runner at 1st base. What do you rule? Does it matter if the b/r passes the runner at 1st base before the ball becomes dead? Also, what would the result be if there were two outs? Your thoughts and opinions would be appreciated.

gumpire Sun Jun 28, 2009 02:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DeputyUICHousto (Post 611126)
Bases loaded with one out. Batter hits a long fly ball to left field. The batted ball deflects off of the left fielders glove and goes over the fence in fair territory. Runner on 1st base is holding to tag up. Batter/runner passes the runner at 1st base. What do you rule?

BR out...all other runners awarded home base.
per 8.7.d and 5.8.6(a)

Quote:

Originally Posted by DeputyUICHousto (Post 611126)
Does it matter if the b/r passes the runner at 1st base before the ball becomes dead?

Is a 4-base award a dead ball? Can't seem to find a reference to that.

Quote:

Originally Posted by DeputyUICHousto (Post 611126)
Also, what would the result be if there were two outs?

BR is out number 3...half inning over.

CecilOne Sun Jun 28, 2009 06:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by gumpire (Post 611131)
Is a 4-base award a dead ball? Can't seem to find a reference to that.

Ball into dead ball territory

Quote:

Originally Posted by gumpire (Post 611131)
BR is out number 3...half inning over.

BR reached 1st if passing the runner at 1st.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 28, 2009 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by gumpire (Post 611131)

Is a 4-base award a dead ball? Can't seem to find a reference to that.

Think about this comment for a second.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 28, 2009 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DeputyUICHousto (Post 611126)
Bases loaded with one out. Batter hits a long fly ball to left field. The batted ball deflects off of the left fielders glove and goes over the fence in fair territory. Runner on 1st base is holding to tag up. Batter/runner passes the runner at 1st base. What do you rule? Does it matter if the b/r passes the runner at 1st base before the ball becomes dead? Also, what would the result be if there were two outs? Your thoughts and opinions would be appreciated.



Assuming Men's SP

ASA 5.5.A.Exception

gumpire Sun Jun 28, 2009 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 611138)
Think about this comment for a second.

Found the reference 8.2.d EXCEPTION........thanks for making me go back and check IRISH.

gumpire Sun Jun 28, 2009 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 611133)
Ball into dead ball territory


BR reached 1st if passing the runner at 1st.

Don't see where it matters if BR reached 1st in the ruling....he/she passed the preceeding runner and is OUT.

The 4 base award does not exist until the umpire awards it. So normal base running responsibilities apply.

Unless the BR is extremely fast, I have hard time seeing him/her reaching 1st while R3 is still deciding if ball is caught/touched. And IF BR had that much speed, no reason he/she couldn't hold up short of 1B.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 28, 2009 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gumpire (Post 611172)
Don't see where it matters if BR reached 1st in the ruling....he/she passed the preceeding runner and is OUT.

The 4 base award does not exist until the umpire awards it. So normal base running responsibilities apply.

Unless the BR is extremely fast, I have hard time seeing him/her reaching 1st while R3 is still deciding if ball is caught/touched. And IF BR had that much speed, no reason he/she couldn't hold up short of 1B.

Think about it for a minute.

If they are not required to run the bases, how can you have a baserunner?

If the batter stepped over 1B and then the ball was declared a home run or a 4-base award, are you going to allow an appeal for the missed base when the player wasn't required to touch it?

By rule, it is either a HR or a four-base award for any fair batted ball which leaves the field in fair territory that does not touch the ground or front of the fence. It is not like the umpire has a choice. Also, by rule, the batter and each runner will be credited with a run. There are no exceptions noted where that would not occur.

gumpire Sun Jun 28, 2009 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 611184)
Think about it for a minute.

If they are not required to run the bases, how can you have a baserunner?

If the batter stepped over 1B and then the ball was declared a home run or a 4-base award, are you going to allow an appeal for the missed base when the player wasn't required to touch it?

If the runner took off for 3B instead of 1B, is that ok because the ball EVENTUALLY went over the fence?

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 611184)
By rule, it is either a HR or a four-base award for any fair batted ball which leaves the field in fair territory that does not touch the ground or front of the fence. It is not like the umpire has a choice. Also, by rule, the batter and each runner will be credited with a run. There are no exceptions noted where that would not occur.

By rule, passing a preceeing runner prior to them scoring or being put out is OUT, no exceptions noted.

I don't think there's a rule anywhere that allows us umpires to "predict" what is going to happen.

gumpire Sun Jun 28, 2009 04:19pm

It is pretty clear that the intent of the runners not having to run on a home run/4 base award is to speed up the game.
It is not the intent that the rules or responsibilities of baserunning go away or don't apply.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 28, 2009 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gumpire (Post 611188)
It is pretty clear that the intent of the runners not having to run on a home run/4 base award is to speed up the game.
It is not the intent that the rules or responsibilities of baserunning go away or don't apply.

So if the ball is over foul territory when the BR passes the runner at 1B it doesn't count because the ball was live and foul at the time and if the BR passes the runner while the ball is over fair territory he is out even if it goes foul because the eventual result of the play is irrelevant and does not make the responsibilities of baserunning go away.

gumpire Sun Jun 28, 2009 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 611192)
So if the ball is over foul territory when the BR passes the runner at 1B it doesn't count because the ball was live and foul at the time and if the BR passes the runner while the ball is over fair territory he is out even if it goes foul because the eventual result of the play is irrelevant and does not make the responsibilities of baserunning go away.

Again, you can't predict this action....rule fair or foul and then take appropriate actions.

Remember, a foul ball is a strike on a "batter" and does not turn him/her into a BR. Since he/she's not a "runner", he/she can't pass ANYBODY. Rule 7.4.G & Rule 8.1.A

"Batter" does beome a "Batter-Runner" on a clearly fair ball as in OP.

If the BR "passed" R3 who was tagging up (per OP), he/she has violated the rule ....if BR "stopped" on 1B AND R3 was still there, no violation.

gumpire Sun Jun 28, 2009 05:30pm

I will say that if the ball has cleared the fence and is therefore "dead ball" and a 4-base-award is given, if BR THEN passes R3, no violation. After "dead ball" - BR is safe and scores a run.

But until ball is clearly "dead" it is "live" and passing preceeding runner is an out.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 28, 2009 06:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gumpire (Post 611193)

Remember, a foul ball is a strike on a "batter" and does not turn him/her into a BR. Since he/she's not a "runner", he/she can't pass ANYBODY. Rule 7.4.G & Rule 8.1.A

Okay, if you want to get picky, 5.5.A.Exception as previously noted clearly states the BATTER is credited with a run. So how are you going to call the player out AND count the run credited to him?

gumpire Sun Jun 28, 2009 06:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 611196)
Okay, if you want to get picky, 5.5.A.Exception as previously noted clearly states the BATTER is credited with a run. So how are you going to call the player out AND count the run credited to him?

:) Well IRISH, looks like we're just gonna go round-and-round....so I'm gonna stop now.

But, just remember, I'm right:):):)

Rule 10.1 :):)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1