The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jun 19, 2009, 07:54am
Official Forum Member

Gerry Davis Stance for softball

I have been using this stance for softball for the past two years. I have been more locked in than ever. When I go work ASA I go back to the traditional box stance but I feel so much more confident in the GD than anything. I know it locks my head in and I have yet to miss high or low "consistantly" maybe here or there.. I just wanted to hear what everone else thought about the stance

For all those who don't know ... Ed Hickox is the MAN

NFHS NCAA PONY ASA ISC USSSA
Old Fri Jun 19, 2009, 08:09am
Official Forum Member

Love it. Been using it in youth ball for 4 yrs. Started using it in college when it became approved. Very quiet, easier on the quads, and looks strong IMO. Can't imagine going back.
Old Fri Jun 19, 2009, 08:52am
Official Forum Member

What is the Gerry Davis stance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
Love it. Been using it in youth ball for 4 yrs. Started using it in college when it became approved. Very quiet, easier on the quads, and looks strong IMO. Can't imagine going back.
Can you describe it for me? Is it different than what some refer to as the scissors? Can you clear the catcher with the Gerry Davis stance? I believe it was a couple of years ago during the WCWS that the home plate umpire got in the way of the catcher fielding a foul ball around the plate because he couldn't clear the catcher. I believe he was using the scissors stance.
Old Fri Jun 19, 2009, 08:55am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post