The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
Umpire Error

Slow Pitch Softball
Home plate umpire calls the batter out for being out of the batter box. (The batter did step up but there was no box being used. ) There was a runner on first and second. The umpires met and ruled: Batter gets first base, the runner on first gets third, and the runner from second scored. They used their judgment at the time the ball was picked up by the outfielder. The offensive team protests the game. Is this misinterpretation of a rule or not because they straightened it out before the next pitch?
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by rottiron01 View Post
Slow Pitch Softball
Home plate umpire calls the batter out for being out of the batter box. (The batter did step up but there was no box being used. )
Not true. The batter's box is always there.

Quote:
There was a runner on first and second. The umpires met and ruled: Batter gets first base, the runner on first gets third, and the runner from second scored. They used their judgment at the time the ball was picked up by the outfielder. The offensive team protests the game. Is this misinterpretation of a rule or not because they straightened it out before the next pitch?
Why would the offense protest a call that obviously was wrong in their favor?

I have a feeling you haven't given us the whole story or have really screwed up the scenario presented.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
Can an umpire call out of the box when a box wasn't put there in the beginning of the game?

These are inmates so if they feel they were benefited from not being called out but thought their runner should have scored they will complain (Appeal). Especially when they lost by one run. I am just trying to justify the umpires decision.

Thanks for your help.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by rottiron01 View Post
Can an umpire call out of the box when a box wasn't put there in the beginning of the game?
Again, THE BOX IS ALWAYS THERE! Just because you cannot see it does not negate the rule.

Quote:
These are inmates so if they feel they were benefited from not being called out but thought their runner should have scored they will complain (Appeal). Especially when they lost by one run. I am just trying to justify the umpires decision.

Thanks for your help.
I don't care who they are, the rules don't change and the play you presented still doesn't make any sense.

If the batter stepped out of the box, how did he end up on 1B? If the batter is ruled out for making contact with the ball with a foot outside of the box, the ball is dead, the batter out and all runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of the pitch.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by rottiron01 View Post
Can an umpire call out of the box when a box wasn't put there in the beginning of the game?

These are inmates so if they feel they were benefited from not being called out but thought their runner should have scored they will complain (Appeal). Especially when they lost by one run. I am just trying to justify the umpires decision.

Thanks for your help.
A complaint or whine is not an appeal. An appeal is defined by the rule book of the sanctioning body that you and the league are sanctioned under. A judgement that a batter hits the ball while out of the box is just that - whether the lines are present or not - a judgement decision/call.
__________________
Steve M
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Since these are inmates, I'm reminded of a story my state uic tells when saying he used to think there are no dumb questions. He was giving an umpire clinic at a state prison and was speaking of a ball hit to a collapsable fence. He asked something to the effect of "Do you have fences here?"
__________________
Steve M
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 157
You guys are all missing the point of the post.

the home plate ump initially thought the batter had stepped out of the batters box (ie since there was no painted lines, thought he was too far towards the pitcher when he hit the ball). the runners both ran on contact, the batter probably jogged to 1B, by the time everyone realized what had happened, the runners had both proceeding 1 base and probably made a turn, and the OF just picked up the ball and was about to throw it to the infield.

now the action is over, since its just slow pitch, the umpire rethought his initial out of box call and ruled the hit was legal, and awarded bases based on what was "fair" not necessarily what is written in the rules, most slow pitch umps dont even know there is a rule book let alone can cite rule 5 section 6 subletter E part ii (just saying the softball rulebook is overly complex).

since this is a slow pitch game (probably a rec league), and most slow pitch leagues dont paint the batters boxes for whatever reason, the ump just did what he thought was right to correct his mistake. its not like the OF let a flyball drop or anything like that, so its really no big deal. if anything, he should have just awarded the batter 1st and only move the runners up 1 base.

the previous responses to the thread are unnecessarily condescending and the posters need to back off their "rulebook knowledge" pedestals, its slow pitch softball, ppl [most] play just to have fun.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 07, 2009, 02:17pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M View Post
Since these are inmates, I'm reminded of a story my state uic tells when saying he used to think there are no dumb questions. He was giving an umpire clinic at a state prison and was speaking of a ball hit to a collapsable fence. He asked something to the effect of "Do you have fences here?"
That's a good one.
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by rottiron01 View Post
Slow Pitch Softball
Home plate umpire calls the batter out for being out of the batter box. (The batter did step up but there was no box being used. )
The batter's box is a designated part of the field. ALWAYS. You must have meant that the field was not lined. Whether the field was lined or not, the batter's box is always there. Just like the foul lines are always there.

Quote:
There was a runner on first and second. The umpires met and ruled: Batter gets first base, the runner on first gets third, and the runner from second scored. They used their judgment at the time the ball was picked up by the outfielder.
How did the ball get to the outfielder? I'm assuming the batter hit the ball to the outfield?

And the umpires are giving the runners two bases....did the ball get thrown into dead ball territory?

There is more to this story that you have not told us .... please clarify.

Why would the batter be given first base when he was declared out for being out of the batter's box? And the other runners were given two bases?

Based on what I gather from the OP, if the ruling was that the batter is out for being out of the box, the ball is dead and all runners are put back, as was already stated. The umpire really should not and must not "overturn" this.


Quote:
The offensive team protests the game. Is this misinterpretation of a rule or not because they straightened it out before the next pitch?
Not enough info to answer this.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.

Last edited by LIUmp; Sun Jun 07, 2009 at 12:45am.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? rpirtle Basketball 3 Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm
Umpire Error--Ruling? Young IN Ref Softball 13 Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:31am
Umpire error ? debeau Softball 1 Tue Oct 04, 2005 07:42am
Player Error or Referee Error??? BK Basketball 21 Fri Jan 16, 2004 01:04pm
Umpire Error Marty Rogers Baseball 4 Thu Apr 25, 2002 02:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1