![]() |
|
|
|||
Umpire Error
Slow Pitch Softball
Home plate umpire calls the batter out for being out of the batter box. (The batter did step up but there was no box being used. ) There was a runner on first and second. The umpires met and ruled: Batter gets first base, the runner on first gets third, and the runner from second scored. They used their judgment at the time the ball was picked up by the outfielder. The offensive team protests the game. Is this misinterpretation of a rule or not because they straightened it out before the next pitch? |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
I have a feeling you haven't given us the whole story or have really screwed up the scenario presented. |
|
|||
Can an umpire call out of the box when a box wasn't put there in the beginning of the game?
These are inmates so if they feel they were benefited from not being called out but thought their runner should have scored they will complain (Appeal). Especially when they lost by one run. I am just trying to justify the umpires decision. Thanks for your help. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
If the batter stepped out of the box, how did he end up on 1B? If the batter is ruled out for making contact with the ball with a foot outside of the box, the ball is dead, the batter out and all runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
Since these are inmates, I'm reminded of a story my state uic tells when saying he used to think there are no dumb questions. He was giving an umpire clinic at a state prison and was speaking of a ball hit to a collapsable fence. He asked something to the effect of "Do you have fences here?"
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
You guys are all missing the point of the post.
the home plate ump initially thought the batter had stepped out of the batters box (ie since there was no painted lines, thought he was too far towards the pitcher when he hit the ball). the runners both ran on contact, the batter probably jogged to 1B, by the time everyone realized what had happened, the runners had both proceeding 1 base and probably made a turn, and the OF just picked up the ball and was about to throw it to the infield. now the action is over, since its just slow pitch, the umpire rethought his initial out of box call and ruled the hit was legal, and awarded bases based on what was "fair" not necessarily what is written in the rules, most slow pitch umps dont even know there is a rule book let alone can cite rule 5 section 6 subletter E part ii (just saying the softball rulebook is overly complex). since this is a slow pitch game (probably a rec league), and most slow pitch leagues dont paint the batters boxes for whatever reason, the ump just did what he thought was right to correct his mistake. its not like the OF let a flyball drop or anything like that, so its really no big deal. if anything, he should have just awarded the batter 1st and only move the runners up 1 base. the previous responses to the thread are unnecessarily condescending and the posters need to back off their "rulebook knowledge" pedestals, its slow pitch softball, ppl [most] play just to have fun. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
And the umpires are giving the runners two bases....did the ball get thrown into dead ball territory? There is more to this story that you have not told us .... please clarify. Why would the batter be given first base when he was declared out for being out of the batter's box? And the other runners were given two bases? Based on what I gather from the OP, if the ruling was that the batter is out for being out of the box, the ball is dead and all runners are put back, as was already stated. The umpire really should not and must not "overturn" this. Quote:
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter. Last edited by LIUmp; Sun Jun 07, 2009 at 12:45am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? | rpirtle | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm |
Umpire Error--Ruling? | Young IN Ref | Softball | 13 | Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:31am |
Umpire error ? | debeau | Softball | 1 | Tue Oct 04, 2005 07:42am |
Player Error or Referee Error??? | BK | Basketball | 21 | Fri Jan 16, 2004 01:04pm |
Umpire Error | Marty Rogers | Baseball | 4 | Thu Apr 25, 2002 02:15pm |