![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
And to answer your second question, no. Why would he be? There's no infield fly with runners only on 2nd and 3rd.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
No the runner wasn't blocked, he was tagged while both players were standing on 3rd.
I do understand the Infield Fly rule I'm just trying to get a grasp on Blue's call. I had a discussion with him on the Dead Ball rule and during that discussion 2 players were ejected and I never got a solid answer from him on the call. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
All of that being said....why, for any reason, would the batter be out in this situation? I'm completely failing to understand that comment.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I dont understand this part. Calmly ask the ump why he called dead ball and returned the runner to 2nd? (Im guessing the ppl that got thrown out didnt ask so nicely) I think you said it was a rec ball league, if so, why would the umpire not give an explanation? Is his life that depraved of authority that his only highlight in life is being able to order people around in softball?? I can see an ump at a high level (ie pro ball) basically give the cold shoulder to a manager he doesnt like, but in rec ball the goal should be to get the call right and explain the calls to both teams if needed. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"No, runner, when you missed second and advanced beyond third, you were supposed to touch third on the way back to second." "No, runner, there are no wormholes on the field of which I am aware. Stop trying to take shortcuts." "No, third, you can't do a fake tag on a runner." "No, runner, you can't kick third in the nuts as retaliation."
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
My guess is that blue thought that the bases were loaded and mistakenly called infield fly. He probably thought that his errant call gave some kind of advantage to the D so he killed the play and placed the runners giving BR first and returning R2 to 2B (TOP).
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning"
|
|
|||
|
Why? The ball wasn't caught. It is not an infield fly situation. The only reasonable explanation, assuming the umpire knew what he was doing, is an obstruction call saving the runner off of 2B.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Rule 8-7-C (ASA) Clarification | kyleflan | Softball | 21 | Mon Apr 21, 2008 12:49pm |
| Rule 2-10 Clarification | Burtis449 | Basketball | 3 | Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:34am |
| Rule Clarification | BigToe | Basketball | 5 | Wed Nov 16, 2005 06:21pm |
| CLARIFICATION ON RULE 9.8 | OFISHE8 | Basketball | 4 | Sat Nov 05, 2005 05:44am |
| Clarification on a rule | trichards | Softball | 1 | Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:54pm |