The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
Question 2 runners on a base

R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st, no outs. B3 bunts up 3rd base line. F5 throws to 1st for the out. For some reason R1 starts running late, F3 throws the F6 on 3rd and R1 gets in to a pickle. R2 is already on second and is not moving. Eventually R1 and R2 are on second. The fielder with the ball first tags R1 and the BU calls safe then she tags R2 and he calls out.
My understanding is the first runner to legally occupy the base is entitled to the base. (8-3-E-Effect). I understand that the force was off once B3 was put out at 1st. However, I still believe R1 should have been called out not R2. The only reason this matters is because R1 is fast and R2 is slow.
Did my partner get it right?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two runners occupying the same base Bart Softball 18 Wed Sep 06, 2006 02:36pm
Two runners on same base? fan Softball 3 Thu Apr 27, 2006 07:54pm
2 runners on third base strike4 Softball 4 Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:42pm
2-runners....1 base gumpire Baseball 49 Wed Apr 07, 2004 02:01pm
2 runners on the same base Gre144 Baseball 4 Mon Jun 04, 2001 07:58am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1