View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 11:27am
TwoBits TwoBits is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Originally Posted by vcblue View Post
My understanding is the first runner to legally occupy the base is entitled to the base. (8-3-E-Effect).
Is this NFHS or ASA? I don't do ASA, so not familiar with that rules set, but 8-3-E and its effect (NFHS) states that the runner who first legal occupied the base shall be entitled to it. R1 had occupied second base before the pitch. She lost that right when she was forced to move on the bunt, but doesn't she regain that right when the force was removed after the batter-runner was put out at first? In such a case, won't it be the trailing runner than would be declared out, if tagged?
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote