The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 03, 2001, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 252
How do you deal with a situation when two runners are on the same base and one or both of the get tagged? Could you give me the the FED rule for this type of play? I would imagine that the lead runner has the right to the bag but I'm not sure. For example, what happens if R1 finds himself safe at second and R2 gets back to second just a second after R1 arrives there? Assume that B1 is first thrown out at first so there is no force. Who has the right to the bag in this situation since R1 got there first?

Just to throw this in for thought. I remember watching a major league game about a year ago. For some reason r1,r2 and r3 stayed on their base during the infield ground ball hit. I think r2 was out on the force at second but he played it as if he were safe because he remained at first. During the confusion, he decided to get himself in a pickel between first and second. The umpires were confused beyond belief. I don't remember what actually happen but my point is this: When runners stay on their base when they are forced to advace, a lot of confusion can occur, especially when one runner is out on the force and he stays on the base that he occupied at the time of the pitch thinking he is safe. This confusion can also happen when you find two men on a base when there is either a force or no force.

I am just asking for help in my question in the first paragraph. Also, some general comment would be nice.

Greg

[Edited by Gre144 on Jun 3rd, 2001 at 09:12 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 03, 2001, 10:24pm
Michael Taylor
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Two guys on the same base the trail runner is out if tagged. I always told kids to tag everybody and let the umps figure it out.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 03, 2001, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
FED: 8-2-7 NOTE

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2001, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,002
If the runners are not forced, the base belongs to the preceeding runner.

If the runners are forced, the base blongs to the trailing runner.

It's that simple.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2001, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 34
Cool Here's the Mechanic

as I was taught:

Point at the runner out, "13, you're out!" and give the hammer.

Will
__________________
Conqueror of Mothra
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1