![]() |
2 runners on a base
R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st, no outs. B3 bunts up 3rd base line. F5 throws to 1st for the out. For some reason R1 starts running late, F3 throws the F6 on 3rd and R1 gets in to a pickle. R2 is already on second and is not moving. Eventually R1 and R2 are on second. The fielder with the ball first tags R1 and the BU calls safe then she tags R2 and he calls out.
My understanding is the first runner to legally occupy the base is entitled to the base. (8-3-E-Effect). I understand that the force was off once B3 was put out at 1st. However, I still believe R1 should have been called out not R2. The only reason this matters is because R1 is fast and R2 is slow. Did my partner get it right? |
Why would an umpire care who was faster?
The rule is pretty clear as you so eloquently stated it.. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
That vcblue is always thinkin! :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
In getting ready to go to the 18A Western National I am think that coaches will be a little more savvy then 12A Travel Daddy Coaches, and they may bring it up in order to have a faster runner in scoring position.
TwoBits brings up the question that we all I have talked to have, <i>"R1 had occupied second base before the pitch. She lost that right when she was forced to move on the bunt, but doesn't she regain that right when the force was removed after the batter-runner was put out at first? In such a case, won't it be the trailing runner than would be declared out, if tagged"?</i> |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota Yes. Quote:
|
Quote:
I've just been amused at all of the words in this thread AFTER my succinct reply! ;) |
lead runner is entitled to base, unless it is a force play, where then the lead runner is entitled to the base he is forced to...
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34am. |