![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I got nothing on this play.
This in not int. The runner is not obligated to move. its OOO to try to sell anything on this play. Let the catcher learn how to do a pick.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
^What he said.^ Though somehow, I doubt we have heard the last of this.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
|
The bottom line here is: did the runner do everything they were supposed to? Yes? We've got no out call on this one.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
Wow...this is a beginning of the season 10U rec ball question.
Why do you think runners are taught to leave 3rd towards home in foul territory and return in fair territory. I will help you: Because it's legal! BTW your post title s/b:F2 commits an error when trying to pick off R3 return to 3rd.
Last edited by vcblue; Thu May 28, 2009 at 10:35am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
What is your explaination of returning in FAIR territory....
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
Yes that is correct going from 3rd to home, but you come back to 3rd in fair so the catcher does not have a straight shot to the bag or possibly even getting hit by the ball ensuring a safe return.
|
|
|||
|
Inteference with a thrown ball has to be intentional.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
BTW, I'd guess Canary is the F2 in question. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
This is not a new rule. This changed for the 2007 season. A runner moving out of the running lane and getting hit by a thrown ball. A runner having fallen (in the case book or test) and getting hit as they stand up I could go on with every little possibility. The key is the runner cannot do something which causes interference and it need not be intentional. This is why we say a runner who is retired cannot just go POOF at that second. They are where they belong as the play is continuing. Move away from that area in a direction other than to where s/he was heading and interfere and someone else is going to be called out. Same with the batter. This is why batters are now instructed to not make any moves other than a natural recovery after a swing. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne Inteference with a thrown ball has to be intentional. OK, still not completely shifted from HS.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ball thrown into Dead ball territory | MASS F/B UMP | Softball | 11 | Mon May 04, 2009 11:32am |
| Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball | rfp | Basketball | 19 | Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am |
| Thrown ball into dead ball area | 0balls2strikes | Softball | 7 | Wed Aug 10, 2005 08:10pm |
| ODB Hit by Thrown Ball | tzme415 | Softball | 9 | Fri Jul 08, 2005 05:06pm |